H.R. No. 936

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Janie Barrera, the president and CEO of ACCION
 Texas, was inducted into the San Antonio Women's Hall of Fame on
 March 1, 2007, in recognition of her civic leadership; and

WHEREAS, Founded by Ms. Barrera in 1994, ACCION Texas is a nonprofit fund that offers micro-loans to small businesses that are not served by traditional lending institutions; more than 80 percent of the borrowers are Hispanic or African American, nearly half are women, and most have incomes at or below the federal poverty line; and

10 WHEREAS, With an average amount of \$7,900, ACCION loans 11 enable these borrowers to enhance the working capital of their 12 businesses, stabilize their incomes, create new jobs, and 13 contribute to the economic revitalization of their communities; and

14 WHEREAS, Starting with one office in San Antonio, ACCION 15 Texas has grown under Ms. Barrera's leadership into a statewide 16 program with offices in Houston, Austin, Brownsville, McAllen, El 17 Paso, Dallas/Fort Worth, Corpus Christi, Laredo, and 80 rural Texas 18 counties; and

WHEREAS, Recognized by the Association for Enterprise Opportunity as the largest micro-lender in the United States, ACCION Texas has disbursed more than \$51 million in small loans to 5,000 low-income and moderate-income business owners, generating \$81 million in economic activity as well as over 900 new jobs; ACCION Texas also provides its borrowers with training in finance,

1

H.R. No. 936

1 management, and business practices; and

WHEREAS, Janie Barrera has brought more than 20 years of management, marketing, fund-raising, and community-building expertise to this invaluable enterprise, and her compassionate and innovative approach has no doubt improved the lives of countless hardworking Texans; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas
Legislature hereby congratulate Janie Barrera on her induction into
the San Antonio Women's Hall of Fame and extend to her best wishes
for continued success; and, be it further

11 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 12 prepared for Ms. Barrera as an expression of high esteem by the 13 Texas House of Representatives.

> Villarreal Castro

Craddick Allen Alonzo Anchia Anderson Aycock Bailey Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Delisi Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins England Escobar Farabee Farias Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Garcia

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goolsby Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Isett Jackson Jones Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Latham Laubenberg Leibowitz Lucio III Macias Madden Mallory Caraway Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez Merritt

Miller Moreno Morrison Mowery Murphy Naishtat Noriega O'Day Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Van Arsdale Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo West Woolley Zedler Zerwas

Miles

## H.R. No. 936

H.R. No. 936

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 936 was adopted by the House on April 5, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House