H.R. No. 941

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Texas Association of Public Employee Retirement

Systems is holding its 18th annual conference in Austin on March

3 18-21, 2007; and

2

6

7

11

12

14

18

20

WHEREAS, A voluntary, nonprofit organization, TEXPERS was

5 founded in 1989 to strengthen public pension systems throughout the

state; in addition to providing a forum for trustees and

administrators to exchange ideas and information, the association

8 also provides its members continuing education opportunities and

9 advisory services; and

10 WHEREAS, TEXPERS system members include police and fire

departments, municipalities, airport, river, and transit

authorities, hospital districts, regional planning commissions,

13 state agencies, community colleges, and university medical

centers; these systems represent more than 127,000 active and

15 retired participants and manage a combined total of \$16 billion in

16 assets; and

17 WHEREAS, A rapidly growing organization, TEXPERS has almost

tripled in membership over the past five years; today, the

19 organization is made up of 111 public employee retirement

systems/groups, together with 130 associate members who provide

21 professional services to the retirement systems; and

WHEREAS, TEXPERS promotes the sound management of the

23 retirement funds on which many of the public employees in this state

24 rely, and its commitment to that mission, and effectiveness in

H.R. No. 941

- 1 fulfilling it, are indeed deserving of commendation; now,
- 2 therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas
- 4 Legislature hereby recognize March 20, 2007, as Texas Association
- of Public Employee Retirement Systems Day at the State Capitol and
- 6 pay tribute to the important contributions of this noteworthy
- 7 organization; and, be it further
- 8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 9 prepared for the association as an expression of high regard by the
- 10 Texas House of Representatives.

Goolsby

H.R. No. 941

Craddick Gattis Miles Allen Miller Geren Alonzo Giddings Moreno Anchia Gonzales Morrison Anderson Gonzalez Toureilles Mowery Goolsby Aycock Murphy Guillen Bailey Naishtat Berman Haggerty Noriega O'Day Bohac Hamilton Bolton Hancock Oliveira Hardcastle Bonnen Olivo Harless Branch Orr Brown of Kaufman Harper-Brown Ortiz, Jr. Brown of Brazos Hartnett Otto Burnam Heflin Parker Callegari Hernandez Patrick Castro Herrero Paxton Chavez Hilderbran Pena Phillips Chisum Hill Christian Hochberg Pickett Cohen Pierson Hodge Coleman Pitts Homer Cook of Navarro Hopson Puente Quintanilla Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Cook of Colorado Corte Raymond Riddle Crabb Hughes Creighton Isett Ritter Crownover Jackson Rodriguez Darby Jones Rose Keffer Davis of Harris Smith of Tarrant Davis of Dallas King of Parker Smith of Harris King of Taylor Delisi Smithee King of Zavala Deshotel Solomons Driver Kolkhorst Strama Dukes Krusee Straus Kuempel Swinford Dunnam Dutton Latham Talton Eiland Laubenberg Taylor Eissler Leibowitz Thompson Lucio III Elkins Truitt England Macias Turner Escobar Madden Van Arsdale Farabee Mallory Caraway Vaught Veasey Farias Martinez Martinez Fischer Farrar Villarreal Flores McCall Vo McClendon West Flynn McReynolds Woolley Frost Gallego Menendez Zedler

Zerwas

Merritt

Garcia

TT	_	7. T	$\Omega I I$
Н	ν	NΩ	941

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 941 was adopted by the House on March 20, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House