H.R. No. 946

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Mark LaCroix of Midland has been named the 2007
 Region 18 Secondary Teacher of the Year by the Texas Education
 Agency; and

WHEREAS, An honors graduate of Hardin-Simmons University, Mr. LaCroix is currently studying for his master's degree at The University of Texas of the Permian Basin; he joined the Midland Independent School District in 1999 and teaches world history at Midland Freshman High School, where he also serves as chair of the history department; and

WHEREAS, Known for his innovative teaching style 10 and 11 enthusiasm for learning, this accomplished educator has 12 demonstrated his dedication to his profession through his 13 involvement with the Texas Classroom Teachers Association, as well 14 as the West Texas Regional, Texas, and National Councils for the 15 Social Studies; and

16 WHEREAS, Mr. LaCroix is committed to staying abreast of the 17 latest developments in his field; certified in gifted and talented 18 education, he has attended the John Ben Sheppard Teacher as a Leader 19 Institute and Bill of Rights Institute seminars; and

20 WHEREAS, Children are the Lone Star State's most precious 21 resource, and a quality education is vital in order for our young 22 people to become successful adults; Mark LaCroix demonstrates the 23 passion, determination, and enthusiasm that are the hallmarks of 24 our best teachers, and he is indeed an exemplary role model in his

1

H.R. No. 946

1 profession; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas Legislature hereby congratulate Mark LaCroix on being named the 2007 Region 18 Secondary Teacher of the Year by the Texas Education Agency and extend to him sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for Mr. LaCroix as an expression of high regard by the
Texas House of Representatives.

Craddick

H.R. No. 946

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 946 was adopted by the House on April 5, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House