H.R. No. 1253

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Cavan Lewis Larnard of Boy Scouts of America Troop
No. 222 in Arlington has attained the rank of Eagle Scout, and this
accomplishment truly merits special recognition; and

WHEREAS, Receiving the Eagle Scout badge is a significant honor, bestowed on only a small fraction of those who enter the scouting movement; in the course of meeting the rank's demanding criteria, Mr. Larnard earned 33 merit badges, and he successfully completed an Eagle Scout project that involved designing and planting a memorial garden for Amy Argersinger at James W. Martin High School; and

WHEREAS, The son of Steven and Maureen Larnard, this fine young Texan has demonstrated outstanding leadership ability as a scout, earning the prestigious Arrow of Light and Bronze and Gold Eagle Palm commendations; in addition, he has earned the respect and admiration of his fellow scouts for his service as patrol leader, quartermaster, historian, and president of Venture Crew 4; and

WHEREAS, Cavan Larnard has also distinguished himself as a member of the Tejas District Color Guard and his involvement with this group allowed him to participate in the festivities surrounding the 2001 and 2005 inaugurations of President George W.

22 Bush and two Texas governors; and

23 WHEREAS, Eagle Scout Larnard's dedication to excellence and 24 his perseverance in the pursuit of his goals have proven him worthy

H.R. No. 1253

- 1 to stand among scouting's elite, and he may indeed reflect with
- 2 pride on a job well done; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas
- 4 Legislature hereby congratulate Cavan Lewis Larnard on becoming an
- 5 Eagle Scout and extend to him best wishes for continued success;
- 6 and, be it further
- 7 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 8 prepared for Mr. Larnard as an expression of high regard by the
- 9 Texas House of Representatives.

Patrick

H.R. No. 1253

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1253 was adopted by the House on April 13, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House