H.R. No. 1256

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, On March 27, 2007, proud residents of Waco are
visiting Austin to celebrate Waco Day at the State Capitol; and

3 WHEREAS, Located on the banks of the Bosque and Brazos Rivers 4 in the heart of Texas and the McLennan County seat, Waco is blessed 5 with an abundance of resources, including natural springs and 6 fertile soil; and

7 WHEREAS, The city is a center for academics; home to Texas 8 State Technical College, McLennan Community College, and Baylor 9 University, the oldest university in the state and the largest 10 Baptist university in the world, Waco makes an invaluable 11 contribution to the Lone Star State by so ably supporting our next 12 generation of leaders; and

WHEREAS, Among the city's myriad distinctions are Lake Waco, the largest municipal lake in the state, the Texas Rangers Hall of Fame and Museum, the Texas Sports Hall of Fame, the historic Hippodrome Theater, and the Dr Pepper Museum & Free Enterprise Institute; and

18 WHEREAS, One of Waco's earliest landmarks is still among its 19 most famous: the Suspension Bridge, designed by the company that 20 later built the Brooklyn Bridge, has been preserved and is now 21 flanked by beautiful parks; and

22 WHEREAS, Citizens of Waco are making important economic, 23 educational, and cultural contributions to Texas while maintaining 24 the attractive qualities that make our best small cities such

1

H.R. No. 1256 desirable places to live, work, and raise a family, and it is indeed fitting to take this opportunity to honor this fine city; now, therefore, be it

4 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas 5 Legislature hereby recognize March 27, 2007, as Waco Day at the 6 State Capitol and extend to the city's visiting residents sincere 7 best wishes for a memorable and enjoyable stay in Austin.

Anderson

Craddick Allen Alonzo Anchia Anderson Aycock Bailey Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Delisi Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins England Escobar Farabee Farias Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Garcia

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goolsby Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Isett Jackson Jones Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Latham Laubenberg Leibowitz Lucio III Macias Madden Mallory Caraway Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez Merritt

Miller Moreno Morrison Mowery Murphy Naishtat Noriega O'Day Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Van Arsdale Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo West Woolley Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 1256

Miles

H.R. No. 1256

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1256 was adopted by the House on March 27, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House