H.R. No. 1265

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Duncanville High School boys' basketball team 2 captured the 2007 UIL Class 5A State Championship with a commanding 3 60-46 win over Humble Kingwood on March 10, 2007, at the Erwin 4 Center in Austin; and

5 WHEREAS, The state title is Duncanville's third in five trips 6 to Austin and capped a perfect 39-0 season; the Panthers became one 7 of just six UIL boys' basketball teams to go undefeated and win a 8 state crown; and

9 WHEREAS, Led by head coach Phil McNeely, the Panthers 10 demonstrated outstanding defensive play and excellent teamwork as 11 they pursued the coveted state championship; assistant coach Dean 12 McGuire, athletic director Kevin Ozee, and managers Teryn Lackey, 13 Sarah Thomas, and Cilia Beach also played a vital role in the team's 14 success; and

15 WHEREAS, Team members include seniors Corey Johnson, Brent 16 Stanton, and D'Walyn Roberts, juniors Kevin Butler, the tournament 17 MVP, Brian Talley, Jamal Lenzy, Josh Etheridge, Victor Adewunmi, 18 and Marcus Gilmore, and sophomores Roger Franklin and Shawn 19 Williams; and

20 WHEREAS, Winning a state championship is the goal of every 21 high school athlete, and the members of the Duncanville Panthers 22 boys' basketball team will cherish the memory of this significant 23 accomplishment for years to come; now, therefore, be it

24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas

1

Legislature hereby congratulate Coach Phil McNeely and the Duncanville Panthers boys' basketball team on winning the 2007 UIL Class 5A State Championship and extend best wishes to the many individuals who contributed to this achievement; and, be it further RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for the team's coaches and players as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Davis of Dallas

H.R. No. 1265

Craddick Allen Alonzo Anchia Anderson Aycock Bailey Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Delisi Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins England Escobar Farabee Farias Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Garcia

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goolsby Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Isett Jackson Jones Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Latham Laubenberg Leibowitz Lucio III Macias Madden Mallory Caraway Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez Merritt

Miller Moreno Morrison Mowery Murphy Naishtat Noriega O'Day Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Van Arsdale Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo West Woolley Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 1265

Miles

H.R. No. 1265

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1265 was adopted by the House on April 13, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House