RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Proud residents of House District 39 are gathering 2 in Austin on March 27, 2007, to celebrate House District 39 Day at 3 the State Capitol; and

WHEREAS, Including the cities of Alamo, Donna, Mercedes, Progreso, Progreso Lakes, San Juan, and Weslaco, this region of the lower Rio Grande Valley was settled by cattle ranchers and sheep ranchers under grants from the Spanish and Mexican governments; in recent years it has been a center for farming and agribusiness, with such important crops as cotton, sugarcane, citrus fruit, grain, and vegetables; and

WHEREAS, Alamo is in the midst of an ambitious and successful revitalization plan; the city has a new city hall, public library, and public works center and is making significant improvements in city streets, parks, and utility infrastructure; there is a new Sports Complex and Community Park, and a new fire station, police substation, and 500,000-gallon water tower are planned; and

WHEREAS, Widely known as "the City with a Heart in the Heart of the Rio Grande Valley," the city of Donna looks forward to the long-awaited Donna International Bridge to Mexico; when completed, the eight-lane toll bridge will bring in \$3 million a year in tolls, as well as bolstering the city's economy with the traffic of shoppers and tourists going to and from Mexico; and

23 WHEREAS, Known as the Boot Capital of Texas, Mercedes has 24 long been a major center for the processing and marketing of

- 1 livestock, cotton, and vegetables; the annual Rio Grande Valley
- 2 Livestock Show and Rodeo draws 150,000 people, with over 3,000
- 3 exhibitors; in recent years it has raised \$14,000 in scholarship
- 4 money for 4-H and FFA students; and
- 5 WHEREAS, With their long history as centers for the sugarcane
- 6 business, Progreso and Progreso Lakes are also a gateway to the Rio
- 7 Grande Valley thanks to the new Progreso/Nuevo Progreso
- 8 International Bridge, completed in 2003; approximately 1.25
- 9 million pedestrians cross the bridge each year, and a million cars
- 10 make the southbound crossing; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Celebrating the 90th anniversary of its
- 12 incorporation, San Juan has become one of the fastest-growing
- 13 cities in the Rio Grande Valley; it is the home of the Virgen de San
- 14 Juan del Valle Shrine, which draws between 20 and 30 thousand
- 15 visitors a week from all over the nation and Mexico, as well as a
- 16 flagpole paying tribute to the men and women who have served in the
- 17 nation's armed forces; and
- 18 WHEREAS, The city of Weslaco has become a favorite
- 19 destination for tourists, golfers, retirees, and birders; it is
- 20 also home to two important Texas A&M research stations; the annual
- 21 Onion Fest celebrates the development of the famous Texas 1015
- Onion in Weslaco and draws 12,000 visitors to the city; and
- WHEREAS, The public schools of District 39 provide
- 24 educational opportunities to the region's diverse population;
- 25 Donna ISD may take pride in its 1,500 elementary students who
- 26 participated in Read Across America, in the recent impressive
- improvement in reading scores of third and fifth graders, and in the

- 1 notable performance of its Bilingual/ESL students on state
- 2 assessment tests, which have made it a model school district; and
- 3 WHEREAS, Home of the Mercedes Tigers, Mercedes ISD is proud
- 4 of its many accomplished graduates, including Congressman Ruben
- 5 Hinojosa, Hidalgo County Judge J. D. Salinas, District Clerk Laura
- 6 Hinojosa, Tejano singer Elida Reyna, musicians Ruben Vela and
- 7 Gilberto Perez, authors Eddie Howell and Michael Salinas,
- 8 songwriter Amanda McBroom, Weslaco ISD Superintendent Ricardo
- 9 Rivera, and physician Dr. Eduardo Caballero; and
- 10 WHEREAS, The Progreso Early College High School Academy
- offers an opportunity for high school students to get an early start
- 12 on college by earning 60 college credit hours or an associate
- degree; beginning in the fall of 2007 and provided free of charge,
- this innovative program has already received 300 applications; and
- WHEREAS, Weslaco ISD has been a TEA "Recognized" school
- 16 district for 10 years, and it has also been recognized by the
- 17 National Center for Educational Accountability for exhibiting
- 18 outstanding performance by comparison with other schools in Texas;
- 19 and
- 20 WHEREAS, Eight schools in the Pharr-San Juan-Alamo ISD have
- 21 been featured in Texas Monthly magazine as being among the best
- 22 public schools in Texas by exhibiting outstanding performance
- 23 across several grades and years on the TAKS test; another three
- 24 campuses in the district have been recognized as exemplary
- 25 campuses; and
- 26 WHEREAS, The residents of this dynamic and rapidly growing
- 27 region of the Lone Star State are justifiably proud of their hard

- 1 work, civic commitment, and innovative spirit; a fine place to live
- 2 and work, it celebrates its rich past while looking forward to an
- 3 exciting future; now, therefore, be it
- 4 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas
- 5 Legislature hereby recognize March 27, 2007, as House District 39
- 6 Day at the State Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation best
- 7 wishes for an informative and enjoyable stay in Austin.

Martinez Flores Gonzales Pena

Craddick Gattis Miles Allen Miller Geren Alonzo Giddings Moreno Anchia Gonzales Morrison Anderson Gonzalez Toureilles Mowery Goolsby Aycock Murphy Guillen Bailey Naishtat Berman Haggerty Noriega O'Day Bohac Hamilton Bolton Hancock Oliveira Hardcastle Bonnen Olivo Harless Branch Orr Brown of Kaufman Harper-Brown Ortiz, Jr. Brown of Brazos Hartnett Otto Burnam Heflin Parker Callegari Hernandez Patrick Castro Herrero Paxton Chavez Hilderbran Pena Phillips Chisum Hill Christian Hochberg Pickett Cohen Pierson Hodge Coleman Pitts Homer Cook of Navarro Hopson Puente Quintanilla Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Cook of Colorado Corte Raymond Riddle Crabb Hughes Creighton Isett Ritter Crownover Jackson Rodriguez Darby Jones Rose Keffer Davis of Harris Smith of Tarrant Davis of Dallas King of Parker Smith of Harris King of Taylor Delisi Smithee King of Zavala Deshotel Solomons Driver Kolkhorst Strama Dukes Krusee Straus Kuempel Swinford Dunnam Dutton Latham Talton Eiland Laubenberg Taylor Eissler Leibowitz Thompson Lucio III Elkins Truitt England Macias Turner Escobar Madden Van Arsdale Farabee Mallory Caraway Vaught Veasey Farias Martinez Martinez Fischer Farrar Villarreal Flores McCall Vo McClendon West Flynn McReynolds Woolley Frost Gallego Menendez Zedler

Zerwas

Merritt

Garcia

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1279 was adopted by the House on March 28, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House