H.R. No. 1281

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Texas House of Representatives is pleased to 2 recognize the Poth High School Pirettes girls' basketball team for 3 winning the Class 2A University Interscholastic League state 4 championship title; and

5 WHEREAS, The Pirettes reached the ultimate level of success 6 in their fourth consecutive appearance at the state tournament, 7 defeating the number one ranked Winnsboro team 72-70 in the title 8 game; trailing by as many as 13 points in the second quarter, the 9 Pirettes fought back and forced two overtime periods before 10 emerging as champions; and

WHEREAS, These young athletes have demonstrated great talent and perseverance throughout the school year, ending the season with a 30-5 record, and team members can take justifiable pride in their outstanding performance; and

15 WHEREAS, Under the superior leadership and expertise of head 16 coach Peggy Hosek and the aid of assistant coaches Lark Harlos, Judy 17 Scheffler, and Patti Zenner, the Pirettes have developed 18 exceptional teamwork and discipline; and

WHEREAS, All those associated with Poth High School and the city of Poth are proud of the Pirettes for their hard work, their impressive skills, and their fine sportsmanship; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas
 Legislature hereby commend the Poth High School Pirettes basketball

1

H.R. No. 1281
team on its successful season and congratulate the team's players
and coaches on winning the Class 2A University Interscholastic
League state championship title; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
House of Representatives.

Kuempel

Craddick Allen Alonzo Anchia Anderson Aycock Bailey Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Delisi Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins England Escobar Farabee Farias Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Garcia

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goolsby Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Isett Jackson Jones Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Latham Laubenberg Leibowitz Lucio III Macias Madden Mallory Caraway Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez Merritt

Miller Moreno Morrison Mowery Murphy Naishtat Noriega O'Day Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Van Arsdale Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo West Woolley Zedler Zerwas

## H.R. No. 1281

Miles

H.R. No. 1281

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1281 was adopted by the House on March 28, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House