RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Delilah Washburn of Wichita County is making history 2 as the first woman appointed to a management position with the Texas 3 Veterans Commission when she assumes the role of director of the

commission's Houston Regional Office on May 1, 2007; and

4

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

5 WHEREAS, A retired first sergeant, Ms. Washburn accrued 20
6 years of active duty with the United States Air Force and 15 years
7 as a counselor with the Texas Veterans Commission in Wichita
8 County, and she has earned the respect and admiration of
9 individuals throughout the state and the nation for her dedication
10 and leadership; and

WHEREAS, Among her noteworthy accomplishments, Ms. Washburn helped bring to fruition the first Texas VA Community Based Outpatient Clinic, which provides 10,000 veterans health care visits each year; in addition, she obtained money from the Wichita County Commissioners Court to fund transportation for veterans traveling to the Oklahoma City VA Medical Center; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Washburn has served as president of the National Association of State Women Veterans Coordinators and in 2004, she coordinated more than 30 local, state, and federal agencies to provide a centralized information seminar for veterans to learn of the many types of assistance available to them; and

WHEREAS, In her new post in Houston, Ms. Washburn will oversee veterans' services for 90 counties that encompass San

24 Antonio, Laredo, and Corpus Christi, in addition to Houston and the

- 1 Rio Grande Valley; in taking on this new challenge, Delilah
- 2 Washburn has demonstrated a profound commitment to Texas veterans
- 3 and she will undoubtedly provide outstanding leadership to this
- 4 vital service organization; now, therefore, be it
- 5 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas
- 6 Legislature hereby congratulate Delilah Washburn on her
- 7 appointment as director of the Houston Regional Office of the Texas
- 8 Veterans Commission and extend to her sincere best wishes for
- 9 continued success with her important work; and, be it further
- 10 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 11 prepared for Ms. Washburn as an expression of high regard by the
- 12 Texas House of Representatives.

Farabee

Craddick Gattis Miles Allen Miller Geren Alonzo Giddings Moreno Anchia Gonzales Morrison Anderson Gonzalez Toureilles Mowery Goolsby Aycock Murphy Bailey Guillen Naishtat Berman Haggerty Noriega O'Day Bohac Hamilton Bolton Hancock Oliveira Hardcastle Bonnen Olivo Harless Branch Orr Brown of Kaufman Harper-Brown Ortiz, Jr. Brown of Brazos Hartnett Otto Burnam Heflin Parker Callegari Hernandez Patrick Castro Herrero Paxton Chavez Hilderbran Pena Phillips Chisum Hill Christian Hochberg Pickett Cohen Pierson Hodge Coleman Pitts Homer Cook of Navarro Hopson Puente Quintanilla Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Cook of Colorado Corte Raymond Riddle Crabb Hughes Creighton Ritter Isett Crownover Jackson Rodriguez Darby Jones Rose Keffer Davis of Harris Smith of Tarrant Davis of Dallas King of Parker Smith of Harris King of Taylor Delisi Smithee King of Zavala Deshotel Solomons Driver Kolkhorst Strama Dukes Krusee Straus Kuempel Swinford Dunnam Dutton Latham Talton Eiland Laubenberg Taylor Eissler Leibowitz Thompson Lucio III Elkins Truitt Macias Turner England Escobar Madden Van Arsdale Farabee Mallory Caraway Vaught Veasey Farias Martinez Martinez Fischer Farrar Villarreal Flores McCall Vo McClendon West Flynn McReynolds Woolley Frost

Zedler

Zerwas

Menendez

Merritt

Gallego

Garcia

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1287 was adopted by the House on April 12, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House