H.R. No. 1337

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Mark Misage, a physics teacher at Westlake High
School in Austin, has won a 2007 Siemens Award for Advanced
Placement; and

WHEREAS, Established in 1998, the Siemens Foundation awards nearly \$2 million every year in college scholarships for students, and its Advanced Placement awards program recognizes exceptional achievement in science, math, and technology; and

8 WHEREAS, The foundation also honors superlative teaching, 9 awarding \$1,000 to a teacher from each of the 50 states; educators 10 with a minimum of five years' teaching experience in math, science, 11 or technology are chosen for their commitment to excellence and 12 their dedication to their students and to the Advanced Placement 13 program; and

14 WHEREAS, The only teacher in Texas to receive this prestigious award in 2007, Mark Misage is a 1989 graduate of The 15 University of Texas at Austin; he has taught at Westlake High School 16 for 18 years and is one of the leaders of the school's award-winning 17 18 AP program, which was named the strongest AP physics program in the world among schools with enrollments larger than 1,000 by the 19 20 College Board in 2005; and

21 WHEREAS, Throughout his career as a teacher, Mark Misage has 22 demonstrated an innovative spirit, a steadfast commitment to his 23 students, and an enthusiasm for his subject, and his record of 24 success as an educator makes him an excellent choice for this

1

H.R. No. 1337

1 national award; now, therefore, be it

House of Representatives.

8

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas Legislature hereby congratulate Mark Misage of Westlake High School for winning a 2007 Siemens Award for Advanced Placement and extend to him best wishes for continued achievement; and, be it further RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for Mr. Misage as an expression of high regard by the Texas

Bolton

H.R. No. 1337

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1337 was adopted by the House on April 12, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House