H.R. No. 1347

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Guadalupe Montes Arellano has earned the Sembrador 2 del Bien Award from the Sin Fronteras Organizing Project for her 3 notable efforts to promote justice and positive change in her 4 community; and

5 WHEREAS, A respected educator and committed leader in El 6 Paso's organized labor movement, Lupe Arellano has long been a 7 passionate advocate for working families and currently serves as 8 the AFL-CIO community services labor liaison with the United Way of 9 El Paso County; and

10 WHEREAS, Mrs. Arellano has also shared her time with the 11 boards of the Upper Rio Grande Work Force, the Paso Del Norte Food 12 Bank, and the Area Agency for the Aging, and further supports the 13 advisory boards of YWCA Consumer Credit Counseling, the 211 El Paso 14 Program, the Sin Fronteras Organizing Project, and the Long Term 15 Recovery Committee, which aids families affected by the devastating 16 floods of 2006; and

17 WHEREAS, In recognition of her tireless service, this 18 remarkable Texan was honored with the Congressional Labor Award in 19 September 2006; blessed with a loving family, she credits her 20 grandfather, father, and husband as the role models who inspired 21 her dedication to organized labor; and

22 WHEREAS, The strength of our communities depends on the 23 commitment and dedication of leaders who, like Lupe Arellano, use 24 their considerable talents to benefit others; now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 1347

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas 2 Legislature hereby congratulate Guadalupe Montes Arellano on her 3 receipt of the Sembrador del Bien Award from the Sin Fronteras 4 Organizing Project and commend her for her work in behalf of the 5 citizens of El Paso; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for Mrs. Arellano as an expression of high regard by the 8 Texas House of Representatives.

Chavez

H.R. No. 1347

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1347 was adopted by the House on April 13, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House