H.R. No. 1379

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Sergeant Matthew Clayton Phelps has returned 2 stateside from Iraq, and this brave and dedicated soldier holds the 3 respect and admiration of all who know him for his exemplary service 4 to his country; and

5 WHEREAS, Assigned to E Company, 36th Combat Aviation Brigade, 6 1-149th Attack Reconnaissance Battalion, Sergeant Phelps joined 7 the National Guard in January 2001, and notwithstanding the 8 hazardous nature of his work, he has approached his mission with the 9 utmost dedication and professionalism; and

10 WHEREAS, Americans owe a profound debt of gratitude to 11 Sergeant Phelps and to all the country's military personnel, for 12 they are called on in wartime to bear the heaviest of burdens and to 13 render sacrifice that is truly beyond measure; and

14 WHEREAS, Through his unwavering devotion to duty, honor, and 15 this nation, Sergeant Phelps embodies the highest ideals of the 16 United States armed forces, and it is indeed appropriate to 17 recognize him and commend him for his service; now, therefore, be it

18 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas 19 Legislature hereby honor Sergeant Matthew Clayton Phelps for his 20 courageous service in Iraq and extend to him sincere best wishes for 21 the future; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for Sergeant Phelps as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Zerwas

1

Craddick Allen Alonzo Anchia Anderson Aycock Bailey Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Delisi Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins England Escobar Farabee Farias Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Garcia

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goolsby Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Isett Jackson Jones Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Latham Laubenberg Leibowitz Lucio III Macias Madden Mallory Caraway Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez Merritt

Miller Moreno Morrison Mowery Murphy Naishtat Noriega O'Day Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Van Arsdale Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo West Woolley Zedler Zerwas

Miles

H.R. No. 1379

H.R. No. 1379

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1379 was adopted by the House on April 4, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House