H.R. No. 1382

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Huston-Tillotson University Choir is performing
 on April 15, 2007, at St. John Missionary Baptist Church in Houston;
 and

WHEREAS, A Houston performance is sponsored annually by the Houston Alumni Chapter of Huston-Tillotson, and this event promises to be an extraordinary experience for all those in attendance as choir members give voice to numerous classical and gospel pieces; and

WHEREAS, The history of Huston-Tillotson University dates 9 back more than a century to the founding of Tillotson College by the 10 11 American Missionary Association of the Congregational churches and 12 of Samuel Huston College by the United Methodist Church, both of which served to educate the African American community; the two 13 14 schools merged in 1952, and Huston-Tillotson University has continued to provide an exemplary education grounded in the liberal 15 arts and sciences, balanced with professional development, and 16 directed to public service and leadership; and 17

WHEREAS, Home to an increasingly diverse population, the school awards undergraduate degrees in business, education, the humanities, natural sciences, social sciences, and science and technology, and it has a vibrant intercollegiate athletics program; and

23 WHEREAS, The Huston-Tillotson choir is composed of 24 performers of immense ability and dedication, and this special

1

H.R. No. 1382
concert will surely inspire all who have the opportunity to attend;
now, therefore, be it
RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas

4 Legislature hereby honor the Huston-Tillotson University Choir on 5 the occasion of its annual Houston concert and extend sincere best 6 wishes for an enjoyable and memorable event; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for the Huston-Tillotson University Choir as an expression
of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Dukes

H.R. No. 1382

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1382 was adopted by the House on April 19, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House