By: Flynn H.R. No. 1398

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Martins Mill Mustangs completed an outstanding

2 season by advancing to the UIL 1-A Division I boys' basketball

championship final at the Frank Erwin Center in Austin on March 10,

4 2007; and

3

7

8

9

12

13

20

24

5 WHEREAS, In a hard-fought championship final that featured

6 five ties and seven lead changes, the Mustangs fell to the Thorndale

High School Bulldogs by the score of 39-37; the two championship

contenders were ranked number one and number two throughout the

year, and the season-ending showdown lived up to the expectations

of the teams' many fans; and

11 WHEREAS, Led by head coach Trae Moore, the Mustangs finished

the season with an impressive 35-5 record, demonstrating a

commitment to teamwork and sportsmanship in their pursuit of the

14 coveted state crown; the team relied on the additional support of

15 assistant coaches Chris Hightower and Keith O'Brien as well as that

16 of team managers Miguel Durham, Whitney Johnson, and Haley

17 Brantley; and

18 WHEREAS, Team members include Cody Brantley, Ernesto

19 Hernandez, Cody Mewbourn, Aubrey Green, Grant Baldwin, Jared

Snyder, Travis Womble, Justin Wilson, B. J. Brawner, Parker

21 Stringer, David Spradling, Isaac Fuller, Austin Tindle, Brant

22 Etheridge, Darell Johnson, Chris Rumsey, and Dax Alexander; and

23 WHEREAS, These dedicated student-athletes have earned the

respect and admiration of their supporters in the Martins Mill

H.R. No. 1398

- 1 community, and it is a pleasure to recognize them for their
- 2 achievements; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas
- 4 Legislature hereby congratulate the Martins Mill boys' basketball
- 5 team on its outstanding 2007 season and extend best wishes to its
- 6 players and coaches for continued success in all their endeavors;
- 7 and, be it further
- 8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 9 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 10 House of Representatives.