H.R. No. 1452

RESOLUTION

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

WHEREAS, The American Institute of Architects contributed to the nation's heritage and vitality for 150 years, and members are celebrating this remarkable milestone at their 2007 national convention, which is being held May 3-5 in San Antonio; and WHEREAS, Organized on April 13, 1857, the AIA has grown to become the largest and most influential professional association for architects in the world; more than 300 component organizations in the United States and abroad, including 17 chapters of the Texas Society of Architects, combine to represent the interests of over 80,000 members; and WHEREAS, Architects have long played a significant role in developing and enhancing the quality of life in cities throughout

WHEREAS, Architects have long played a significant role in developing and enhancing the quality of life in cities throughout the country; applying building technology and design innovation, they help create visually attractive, safe, livable, and welcoming public spaces, and they provide crucial stewardship of our great architectural and historic treasures; and

WHEREAS, In honor of its sesquicentennial, the AIA has developed "Blueprint for America," a comprehensive community service program that encourages members of the profession to work collaboratively with local government officials, business leaders, and citizens to identify neighborhoods in need of improvement; and

WHEREAS, More than 20,000 industry professionals are expected to attend the 2007 National Convention and Design Exposition in San Antonio; centered around the theme, "Growing

H.R. No. 1452

- 1 Beyond Green," the conference will feature a variety of educational
- 2 opportunities on the topic of sustainable design; and
- 3 WHEREAS, With their vision, dedication, and skill,
- 4 architects benefit communities across Texas and the United States,
- 5 and it is a pleasure to welcome these esteemed professionals to the
- 6 Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it
- 7 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas
- 8 Legislature hereby congratulate the American Institute of
- 9 Architects on its sesquicentennial and extend to all those
- 10 associated with the organization sincere best wishes for a
- 11 productive and enjoyable convention; and, be it further
- 12 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 13 prepared for the AIA as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 14 House of Representatives.

Farrar

H.R. No. 1452

Craddick Gattis Miles Allen Miller Geren Alonzo Giddings Moreno Anchia Gonzales Morrison Anderson Gonzalez Toureilles Mowery Goolsby Aycock Murphy Bailey Guillen Naishtat Berman Haggerty Noriega O'Day Bohac Hamilton Bolton Hancock Oliveira Hardcastle Bonnen Olivo Harless Branch Orr Brown of Kaufman Harper-Brown Ortiz, Jr. Brown of Brazos Hartnett Otto Burnam Heflin Parker Callegari Hernandez Patrick Castro Herrero Paxton Chavez Hilderbran Pena Phillips Chisum Hill Christian Hochberg Pickett Cohen Pierson Hodge Coleman Pitts Homer Cook of Navarro Hopson Puente Quintanilla Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Cook of Colorado Corte Raymond Riddle Crabb Hughes Creighton Isett Ritter Crownover Jackson Rodriguez Darby Jones Rose Keffer Davis of Harris Smith of Tarrant Davis of Dallas King of Parker Smith of Harris King of Taylor Delisi Smithee King of Zavala Deshotel Solomons Driver Kolkhorst Strama Dukes Krusee Straus Kuempel Swinford Dunnam Dutton Latham Talton Eiland Laubenberg Taylor Eissler Leibowitz Thompson Lucio III Elkins Truitt Macias Turner England Escobar Madden Van Arsdale Farabee Mallory Caraway Vaught Veasey Farias Martinez Martinez Fischer Farrar Villarreal Flores McCall Vo McClendon West Flynn McReynolds Woolley Frost Gallego Menendez Zedler

Zerwas

Merritt

Garcia

H.F	₹	No.	14	15	2

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1452 was adopted by the House on April 12, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House