H.R. No. 1459

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Larry Robertson concludes an exemplary and highly
successful decade-long tenure as mayor of the city of Quitman in
2007; and

WHEREAS, A retired lawman, Mayor Robertson was elected to the city council in 1991 and quickly gained the respect and admiration of his fellow council members and his constituents; he began his tenure as mayor in 1997; and

8 WHEREAS, During his years in office, Mayor Robertson 9 implemented and oversaw numerous projects that have benefited the 10 Quitman community, including the reconstruction and enlargement of 11 the city's sewer plant, the addition of extended area phone service 12 in the community, and the renovation of the local water plant; he 13 also successfully promoted a half-cent sales tax increase to create 14 additional revenue for the city; and

WHEREAS, One of Mayor Robertson's most notable achievements was the acquisition of the Governor Hogg Shrine Historic Site from the Parks and Wildlife Department; in addition, he helped found the Quitman Heritage Foundation and led the effort to refurbish the pool and add concessions at the Youth Foundation Park, another initiative that has led to increased revenue for the city; and

21 WHEREAS, Throughout his terms as council member and mayor, 22 Larry Robertson has consistently demonstrated a fiscally 23 responsible and conservative approach to municipal government, and 24 he may indeed reflect with pride on his many contributions; now,

1

H.R. No. 1459

1 therefore, be it

2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas 3 Legislature hereby honor Larry Robertson for his commendable 4 service as mayor of Quitman and extend best wishes to him for 5 continued success in his endeavors; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for Mayor Robertson as an expression of high regard by the 8 Texas House of Representatives.

Hughes

H.R. No. 1459

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1459 was adopted by the House on April 27, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House