H.R. No. 1470

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Joe and Theresa Padilla have made invaluable
- 2 contributions to the welfare of the Denver Harbor community; and
- 3 WHEREAS, Mr. and Mrs. Padilla share a long and distinguished
- 4 history of exceptional service to this inner east side
- 5 neighborhood, which is home to a vibrant, traditionally
- 6 underserved, working-class Hispanic population; and
- 7 WHEREAS, The many efforts of these fine Texans include
- 8 founding sports leagues for area youth and working as board members
- 9 of Denver Harbor Senior Citizens, Inc., which offers much-needed
- 10 services to the elderly; they have joined forces with The
- 11 Metropolitan Organization to advocate lower housing costs and have
- 12 been tireless supporters of the Denver Harbor New Addition project;
- 13 furthermore, they were instrumental in the renovation of Lyons
- 14 Street, as well as in the demolition of several dangerous
- 15 buildings; and
- 16 WHEREAS, In acknowledgment of their many good works, the
- 17 Padillas were lauded with the 2006 Mayor's Hispanic Heritage Award
- 18 for Lifetime Achievement, and they were additionally recognized by
- 19 Mayor Bill White with a day named in their honor; and
- WHEREAS, Joe and Theresa Padilla are inspirations to all who
- 21 are privileged to know them, and their years of service to Denver
- 22 Harbor have made the community a better place in which to live,
- work, and raise a family; now, therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas

H.R. No. 1470

- 1 Legislature hereby commend Joe and Theresa Padilla on their
- 2 outstanding dedication to the citizens of Denver Harbor and extend
- 3 to them deep appreciation for their exemplary civic service; and,
- 4 be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Mr. and Mrs. Padilla as an expression of high regard by
- 7 the Texas House of Representatives.

Hernandez

H.R. No. 1470

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1470 was adopted by the House on May 4, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House