H.R. No. 1490

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Five participants of The Class in The Parks, a 2 program of Arlington ISD, have helped to promote entrepreneurship 3 in their community; and

WHEREAS, Together with the Arlington Chamber of Commerce,
high school students Seth Anglin, Clavel Gutierrez, Tracsean
Hamilton, Lindsey Kelley, and Amy Plange hosted Arlington
Entrepreneurship Day on February 24, 2007; and

8 WHEREAS, More than 700 individuals attended the event at the 9 Arlington ISD Professional Development Center, which coincided 10 with the launch of EntrepreneurshipWeek USA, and aimed to raise 11 public awareness of the importance of free enterprise; and

WHEREAS, The dedicated young Texans of The Class in The Parks also developed the "What's Your Big Idea" art and essay contest; nearly 3,000 third through sixth graders submitted entries to this competition designed to inspire participants to think creatively about starting a new business, developing an innovation for an existing company, or making a positive impact in the community; and

WHEREAS, Seth Anglin, Clavel Gutierrez, Tracsean Hamilton, Lindsey Kelley, and Amy Plange have demonstrated leadership skills and resourcefulness that belie their years, and those qualities will undoubtedly aid them as they face the myriad challenges and opportunities of the future; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas
 Legislature hereby commend Seth Anglin, Clavel Gutierrez, Tracsean

1

Hamilton, Lindsey Kelley, and Amy Plange for their work in hosting the Arlington Entrepreneurship Day on February 24, 2007, and extend to them sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 6 prepared for the students as an expression of high regard by the 7 Texas House of Representatives.

> Pierson Patrick Smith of Tarrant Zedler

H.R. No. 1490

H.R. No. 1490

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1490 was adopted by the House on April 17, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House