RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, In keeping with the finest tradition of public service, Corporal Ronald Stanfield, Trooper Cynthia Sparks, and Trooper Thomas M. Harris of the Texas Department of Public Safety acted with the utmost efficiency and professionalism, and their actions on January 25, 2006, were instrumental in saving the life of a legislative employee; and

WHEREAS, On that day, an individual employed in the office of a state representative began to have trouble breathing, and a fellow staffer phoned for an ambulance; and

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

WHEREAS, While the EMS unit was en route to the scene, Trooper Sparks responded to the call for assistance and found the employee slumped in his chair; she radioed for help and was soon joined by Trooper Harris; together the pair began assessing the man's vital signs and placed a further call for an automatic external defibrillator; and

WHEREAS, Hearing the call, Corporal Stanfield picked up an AED from the nurse's station and hurried with it to the office; Trooper Harris began activating the defibrillator as Corporal Stanfield began to administer cardiopulmonary resuscitation; and

20 WHEREAS, Trooper Harris was about to administer the first 21 shock from the defibrillator when EMS personnel arrived and took 22 over the rescue operation; they administered treatment and 23 stabilized the individual so that he could be moved to Brackenridge 24 Hospital; and

WHEREAS, A legislative employee's survival and subsequent recovery are due in large part to the quick thinking and forthright action of Corporal Stanfield and Troopers Sparks and Harris; their decisive conduct in those first crucial minutes made the critical difference in saving the man's life; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas Legislature hereby honor Corporal Ronald Stanfield, Trooper Cynthia Sparks, and Trooper Thomas M. Harris for their heroism in saving the life of a fellow Texan and extend to them sincere appreciation for a job well done; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That official copies of this resolution be prepared for Corporal Stanfield, Trooper Sparks, and Trooper Harris as an

expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Dunnam Guillen Pitts Cook of Colorado Talton

Craddick Gattis Miles Allen Miller Geren Alonzo Giddings Moreno Anchia Gonzales Morrison Anderson Gonzalez Toureilles Mowery Goolsby Aycock Murphy Bailey Guillen Naishtat Berman Haggerty Noriega O'Day Bohac Hamilton Bolton Hancock Oliveira Hardcastle Bonnen Olivo Harless Branch Orr Brown of Kaufman Harper-Brown Ortiz, Jr. Brown of Brazos Hartnett Otto Burnam Heflin Parker Callegari Hernandez Patrick Castro Herrero Paxton Chavez Hilderbran Pena Phillips Chisum Hill Christian Hochberg Pickett Cohen Pierson Hodge Coleman Pitts Homer Cook of Navarro Hopson Puente Quintanilla Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Cook of Colorado Corte Raymond Riddle Crabb Hughes Creighton Isett Ritter Crownover Jackson Rodriguez Darby Jones Rose Keffer Davis of Harris Smith of Tarrant Davis of Dallas King of Parker Smith of Harris King of Taylor Delisi Smithee King of Zavala Deshotel Solomons Driver Kolkhorst Strama Dukes Krusee Straus Kuempel Swinford Dunnam Dutton Latham Talton Eiland Laubenberg Taylor Eissler Leibowitz Thompson Lucio III Elkins Truitt Macias Turner England Escobar Madden Van Arsdale Farabee Mallory Caraway Vaught Veasey Farias Martinez Martinez Fischer Farrar Villarreal Flores McCall Vo McClendon West Flynn McReynolds Woolley Frost Gallego Menendez Zedler

Zerwas

Merritt

Garcia

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1507 was adopted by the House on April 19, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House