## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Memories of a life filled with joyful times and 2 meaningful accomplishments may comfort the family and friends of 3 the Honorable Sam D. Seale of Jackson County, who passed away on 4 February 7, 2007; and

5 WHEREAS, A native of the Lone Star State, Mr. Seale was born 6 on September 27, 1933, in Floresville; as a young man, he joined the 7 Kingsville Police Department, later serving with the Travis County 8 Sheriff's Office and the FBI in Washington, D.C.; and

9 WHEREAS, Mr. Seale studied at Texas A&I University, the 10 American College of Law, and The University of Texas at Austin 11 School of Law, and later returned with his wife and children to his 12 family ranch in Jackson County, where he was elected county judge in 13 1971; and

WHEREAS, During his tenure on the bench, Judge Seale served as president of the South Texas Judges and Commissioners Association and president of the Texas Association of Regional Councils; in addition, he headed the statewide County Judges and Commissioners Association of Texas and served on the board of the National Association of Regional Councils of Government; and

20 WHEREAS, He joined the staff of the Texas Association of 21 Counties as head of intergovernmental relations in 1986, and the 22 following year he was hired as executive director of the 23 organization; under his able guidance, the TAC grew from six 24 employees to 130 without increasing the taxpayer dues paid by

1

1 county governments; and

2 WHEREAS, Mr. Seale continued to share his time with a number 3 of professional organizations, serving as president of the National 4 Conference of County Association Executives and the Conference of 5 Southern County Associations and on the boards of the National 6 Association of Counties and the Texas Supreme Court Judges 7 Education Committee; and

8 WHEREAS, A number of other groups also benefited from his 9 participation, including the Texas County and District Retirement 10 System Board of Trustees, the South Texas Health Systems Agency, 11 the Texas Juvenile Probation Commission Advisory Committee, and the 12 Texas Department of Community Affairs Advisory Committee; and

13 WHEREAS, Mr. Seale was proud of his four terms as president of 14 the Golden Crescent Regional Planning Commission, and his 15 exceptional service to the organization earned him the title of Man 16 of the Year in 1979 and 1984; and

WHEREAS, In his leisure time, Mr. Seale especially enjoyedhunting with friends in West Texas and nature photography; and

WHEREAS, Those who were privileged to know Sam Seale will long remember his life of service to his community and to the State of Texas, and although he will be greatly missed, his legacy will live on in the institutions he nurtured and in the myriad accomplishments he leaves behind; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of the Honorable Sam D. Seale and extend deepest sympathy to the members of his family: to his wife, Sylvia Aldrete Seale; to his children, Sam D. Seale IV and

2

his wife, Sandra, Carrie Hearne, Lea Ann Guyton, Terry Fazio and her husband, Pat, Jean Bordelon and her husband, Max, Laura Hanson and her husband, Jeff, Marc Thomas, and Michael McCrery and his wife, Cerenna; to his 21 grandchildren and his great-grandchild; to his sister, Laura Ann Farley; and to his other relatives and many friends; and, be it further

7 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 8 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of 9 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Sam D. 10 Seale.

Smith of Harris

Craddick Allen Alonzo Anchia Anderson Aycock Bailey Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Delisi Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins England Escobar Farabee Farias Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Garcia

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goolsby Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Isett Jackson Jones Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Latham Laubenberg Leibowitz Lucio III Macias Madden Mallory Caraway Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez Merritt

Miller Moreno Morrison Mowery Murphy Naishtat Noriega O'Day Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Van Arsdale Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo West Woolley Zedler Zerwas

## H.R. No. 1518

Miles

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1518 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on April 25, 2007.

Chief Clerk of the House