RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, County government provides a variety of essential 2 services for the safety, welfare, and betterment of local 3 communities; and

WHEREAS, These vital services include law enforcement and public safety, frontline emergency response to natural disasters such as hurricanes and wildfires, the maintenance of roads and bridges, assistance to senior citizens and youth, management of public records, and provision of such cultural and recreational amenities as public libraries and parks; and

WHEREAS, Composed of dedicated elected and appointed officials and hardworking employees, the governments of the 254 counties in Texas are careful stewards of the public's money; readily accessible to their citizens, county governments respond to taxpayer concerns and offer innovative and cost-effective solutions to community needs and problems; and

WHEREAS, County government is critical to the well-being of Texas, and it is fitting that this institution and the men and women who serve it be honored; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas Legislature hereby recognize April 22 through April 28, 2007, as County Government Week and commend the county governments of Texas and their officials and employees for their dedicated service.

Farabee

H.R. No. 1571

Craddick Gattis Miles Allen Miller Geren Alonzo Giddings Moreno Anchia Gonzales Morrison Anderson Gonzalez Toureilles Mowery Aycock Goolsby Murphy Guillen Bailey Naishtat Berman Haggerty Noriega O'Day Bohac Hamilton Bolton Hancock Oliveira Hardcastle Bonnen Olivo Harless Branch Orr Brown of Kaufman Harper-Brown Ortiz, Jr. Brown of Brazos Hartnett Otto Burnam Heflin Parker Callegari Hernandez Patrick Castro Herrero Paxton Chavez Hilderbran Pena Phillips Chisum Hill Christian Hochberg Pickett Cohen Pierson Hodge Coleman Pitts Homer Cook of Navarro Hopson Puente Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Cook of Colorado Quintanilla Corte Raymond Crabb Riddle Hughes Creighton Isett Ritter Crownover Jackson Rodriguez Darby Jones Rose Keffer Davis of Harris Smith of Tarrant Davis of Dallas King of Parker Smith of Harris King of Taylor Delisi Smithee King of Zavala Deshotel Solomons Driver Kolkhorst Strama Dukes Krusee Straus Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Dutton Latham Talton Eiland Laubenberg Taylor Eissler Leibowitz Thompson Lucio III Elkins Truitt England Macias Turner Escobar Madden Van Arsdale Farabee Mallory Caraway Vaught Veasey Farias Martinez Martinez Fischer Farrar Villarreal Flores McCall Vo McClendon West Flynn Woolley McReynolds Frost Gallego Menendez Zedler

Zerwas

Merritt

Garcia

H.R. No. 1571

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1571 was adopted by the House on April 25, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House