H.R. No. 1575

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Carla Kay Moore, computer technology specialist at 2 James Bowie Elementary School in Lubbock, is retiring in May 2007, 3 and her retirement brings to a close an exceptional career in 4 education that has spanned 35 years; and

5 WHEREAS, A graduate of McMurry University, Mrs. Moore earned 6 her master's degree in education at Texas Tech University; she has 7 six elementary education certifications and has taught at four 8 elementary schools, one in San Antonio and three in Lubbock; and

In addition to providing her students with 9 WHEREAS, exceptional instruction and skills they need for academic success, 10 she has been active with a number of organizations; Odyssey of the 11 12 Mind, Destination ImagiNation, and the Texas State Teachers 13 Association have benefited from her participation, and she has 14 served the PTA in every elected office, earning lifetime membership status and the distinction of Teacher of the Year; she has also 15 given of her time and considerable talents as president of her local 16 chapter of Delta Kappa Gamma Society International, an honor 17 society of women educators; and 18

WHEREAS, Through the years, Mrs. Moore has enjoyed the support of her husband, Tom, and their two children, Thomas and Gwendolyn; and

22 WHEREAS, Mrs. Moore has dedicated decades to the youth of the 23 Lone Star State, and she may reflect with great pride on her 24 accomplished career, knowing that she has made a positive

1

H.R. No. 1575

difference in the lives of her students; now, therefore, be it
RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas
Legislature hereby congratulate Carla Kay Moore on her retirement
as an educator and extend to her best wishes for the future; and, be
it further
RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be

7 prepared for Mrs. Moore as an expression of high regard by the Texas 8 House of Representatives.

Jones

H.R. No. 1575

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1575 was adopted by the House on May 4, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House