H.R. No. 1578

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Texas House of Representatives is pleased to
- 2 join the Communities In Schools State Advisory Committee and the
- 3 Texas Education Agency in recognizing the recipients of the 2007
- 4 Best of Texas awards; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Communities In Schools is a nationwide dropout
- 6 prevention network with 27 area programs in Texas; it helps
- 7 students to improve in academics, attendance, or behavior,
- 8 encouraging more students to stay in school, graduate, and pursue
- 9 postsecondary education goals; and
- 10 WHEREAS, The Best of Texas award recipients are recognized
- 11 for their outstanding commitment to the CIS program, students,
- 12 families, and schools; they are those who exemplify the spirit of
- 13 the program, as well as those who dedicate themselves beyond
- 14 expectations; and
- WHEREAS, Award winners and their Communities In Schools
- 16 programs are Kris Downing, of Central Texas, Paul Lane Award of
- 17 Excellence; Karl Schmalz, of the Dallas region, Board Member of the
- 18 Year; Mike Steele, of Tarrant County, Executive Director of the
- 19 Year; Julie Lyon, of Northeast Texas, Staff Member of the Year;
- 20 Kenny Thompson, DDS, of Northeast Texas, Volunteer of the Year;
- 21 Tashia Dawn Rusnak, of South Central Texas, Student of the Year; and
- 22 Dorothy Harris, of McLennan County Youth Collaboration, Parent of
- 23 the Year; and
- 24 WHEREAS, Other recipients are Paul Vranish, Tornillo

H.R. No. 1578

- 1 Independent School District, of El Paso, Superintendent of the
- 2 Year; Jessica Hicks, Waco Independent School District, of McLennan
- 3 County Youth Collaboration, Principal of the Year; Nance Lee
- 4 Talbett, Copperas Cove Independent School District, of
- 5 Bell-Coryell Counties, Teacher of the Year; and Bank of America, of
- 6 Tarrant County, Business of the Year; and
- 7 WHEREAS, These dedicated citizens have helped many young
- 8 Texans to stay in school, prepare for successful lives, and
- 9 contribute to their communities, and they truly merit special
- 10 recognition; now, therefore, be it
- 11 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas
- 12 Legislature hereby congratulate the recipients of the 2007
- 13 Communities In Schools Best of Texas Awards and commend all those
- 14 involved with the Communities In Schools programs of Texas for
- their exceptional work; and, be it further
- 16 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 17 prepared for the award recipients as an expression of high regard by
- 18 the Texas House of Representatives.

Zedler

H.R. No. 1578

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1578 was adopted by the House on April 19, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House