RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Under the guidance of second-year head coach Cynthia Cooper-Dyke, the Prairie View A&M University women's basketball 2 3 team achieved many firsts during the 2006-2007 season, including its first NCAA tournament appearance; and 4 5 WHEREAS, The Lady Panthers posted an impressive 6 conference record and finished with 19 wins and 14 losses overall to claim the first winning season in the team's history; Prairie View 7 also earned a share of its first regular season conference title and 8 captured its first Southwestern Athletic Conference 9 (SWAC) tournament championship during the 2006-2007 campaign; and 10 11 WHEREAS, In just two seasons, SWAC Co-Coach of the Year 12 Cynthia Cooper-Dyke has overseen a remarkable turnaround in the 13 women's basketball program, and with a core of talented young players, she has the Lady Panthers poised for continued success; 14 formerly a professional head coach in the WNBA and a two-time league 15 MVP, Coach Cooper-Dyke has instilled a strong work ethic and 16 positive attitude within her players, and her contributions to the 17 18 team's achievements cannot be overstated; and WHEREAS, Team members include Tanesha Barefield, Dominiquea 19 Holman, Chelsea Marshall, Giselle Price, Karessa Sauls, Eryn Scott, 20 21 Angel Smith, Shavonne Smith, Twila Stokes, Candice Thomas, Brittany 22 Walker, Dominique Warrior, Gaati Werema, and Krystal Williams; and 23 WHEREAS, Several of the Lady Panthers were recognized during

and after the season for their exemplary efforts on the hard court:

24

- 1 two-time newcomer of the week Candice Thomas was named MVP of the
- 2 2007 SWAC Tournament and was joined by three-time SWAC Player of the
- 3 Week and SWAC Freshman of the Year Gaati Werema on the
- 4 all-tournament team; junior guard Shavonne Smith was named to the
- 5 all-conference second team; and senior guard Angel Smith earned
- 6 selection to the 2007 SWAC All-Academic team; and
- 7 WHEREAS, Through their hard work and dedication to
- 8 excellence, Coach Cooper-Dyke and the Lady Panthers have had an
- 9 outstanding year, and their season of firsts will long be
- 10 remembered and celebrated by fans of the Prairie View A&M
- 11 University women's basketball team; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas
- 13 Legislature hereby honor Coach Cynthia Cooper-Dyke and the Prairie
- 14 View A&M University women's basketball team on their achievements
- and extend best wishes to them for the future; and, be it further
- RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 17 prepared for Coach Cooper-Dyke and the team as an expression of high
- 18 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Dutton Allen Miles Thompson Turner Zerwas

Craddick Gattis Miles Allen Miller Geren Alonzo Giddings Moreno Anchia Gonzales Morrison Anderson Gonzalez Toureilles Mowery Goolsby Aycock Murphy Bailey Guillen Naishtat Berman Haggerty Noriega O'Day Bohac Hamilton Bolton Hancock Oliveira Hardcastle Bonnen Olivo Harless Branch Orr Brown of Kaufman Harper-Brown Ortiz, Jr. Brown of Brazos Hartnett Otto Burnam Heflin Parker Callegari Hernandez Patrick Castro Herrero Paxton Chavez Hilderbran Pena Phillips Chisum Hill Christian Hochberg Pickett Cohen Pierson Hodge Coleman Pitts Homer Cook of Navarro Hopson Puente Quintanilla Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Cook of Colorado Corte Raymond Riddle Crabb Hughes Creighton Ritter Isett Crownover Jackson Rodriguez Darby Jones Rose Keffer Davis of Harris Smith of Tarrant Davis of Dallas King of Parker Smith of Harris King of Taylor Delisi Smithee King of Zavala Deshotel Solomons Driver Kolkhorst Strama Dukes Krusee Straus Kuempel Swinford Dunnam Dutton Latham Talton Eiland Laubenberg Taylor Eissler Leibowitz Thompson Lucio III Elkins Truitt Macias Turner England Escobar Madden Van Arsdale Farabee Mallory Caraway Vaught Veasey Farias Martinez Martinez Fischer Farrar Villarreal Flores McCall Vo McClendon West Flynn McReynolds Woolley Frost

Zedler

Zerwas

Menendez

Merritt

Gallego

Garcia

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1580 was adopted by the House on April 25, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House