H.R. No. 1602

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Nancy Lee Talbett of Copperas Cove has been named a 1 2 Teacher of the Year by Communities In Schools, a community-based 3 organization dedicated to helping young people stay in school and successfully prepare for life; and 4 5 WHEREAS, Mrs. Talbett, who has been affiliated with Copperas Cove ISD since 1998, teaches special education and parenting 6

WHEREAS, A native of Naperville, Illinois, this dedicated educator earned a bachelor's degree in education from North Central College in 1985, graduating on the president's list; she is certified in elementary education in Illinois and Texas and special education in Texas, and has been employed by Naperville Central High School, United ISD in Laredo, Killeen ISD, and Lampasas ISD; and

education and pregnancy classes as well as a course in credit

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

recovery in Copperas Cove; and

WHEREAS, In all her endeavors, Mrs. Talbett receives the love and support of her husband of 15 years, Paul, the head tennis coach for Copperas Cove ISD; together they enjoy working with animal rescue groups and motorcycling through the backroads of Texas; and

WHEREAS, Talented teachers who are committed to the welfare of their students are vital to the success of our state's schools, and Nancy Talbett is indeed an educator worthy of recognition; now, 23 therefore, be it

24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas

H.R. No. 1602

- 1 Legislature congratulate Nancy Lee Talbett on her receipt of the
- 2 Communities In Schools Teacher of the Year Award and commend her for
- 3 her positive contributions to education in the Lone Star State;
- 4 and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Mrs. Talbett as an expression of high regard by the
- 7 Texas House of Representatives.

Miller

TT	-	7. T	-	60	\sim
н	ν	$N \cap$	- 1	6	1 /

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1602 was adopted by the House on April 19, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House