By: Krusee H.R. No. 1627

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Erin Davis, a senior at Stony Point High School in 2 Round Rock, has demonstrated excellence in the sport of gymnastics, 3 and she will soon be competing at the collegiate level as a student

4 athlete at the University of Nebraska; and

WHEREAS, Active in the sport since the age of six, Ms. Davis
proved herself at the recreational level and at the competitive
level at Capital Gymnastics in Austin, and she undoubtedly
possesses the dedication, commitment, and athleticism necessary to
succeed at the highest levels of gymnastic competition; and

WHEREAS, A three-time Junior Olympic National Championships qualifier, Ms. Davis took second on floor, third on vault, and sixth on beam in 2006; in 2005, she posted ninth-place finishes on vault and floor, and the previous year she took third-place honors on vault; and

WHEREAS, Thanks to the strong support of her parents, Simira and Michael Davis, and her coach, Barry Hyder, this dynamic student athlete has continued to improve as a gymnast, while also establishing herself as a mentor and role model for younger gymnasts; her soon-to-be coach at the University of Nebraska considers her to be "the total package on both floor and vault," and suggests that she may contend for All-America honors and an NCAA title during her Husker career; and

WHEREAS, Setting and achieving personal goals is a hallmark of successful athletes at every level of competition, and Erin

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

H.R. No. 1627

Davis has shown the physical ability and mental fortitude necessary to contend with the top athletes in her sport; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas Legislature hereby recognize Erin Davis for her leadership, commitment, and exemplary achievement as an athlete and extend sincere best wishes to her for continued success; and, be it further RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for Ms. Davis as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.