H.R. No. 1673

By: Giddings

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Cedar Hill High School football team has made 2 the 2006 season a memorable one by winning the 5A Division II state 3 championship for the first time in school history; and

WHEREAS, After charging through a 10-0 regular season, the Longhorns captured their second consecutive district title before handing losses to Jesuit, Hebron, Amarillo, DeSoto, and Garland in playoff action; then, this talented squad scored a resounding 51-17 victory over Cypress Falls to claim the coveted state crown and post an unblemished 16-0 season record; and

10 WHEREAS, The impressive Longhorns have amassed numerous 11 individual and team accolades over the course of the season, 12 including all-district and all-area honors; boasting the third 13 highest scoring offense in the state, Cedar Hill has also been named 14 High School Football Team of the Year by Chevrolet, Channel 11, and 15 the Harris Rating Poll; and

WHEREAS, Contributing to this total team effort were William 16 Cole, Quinton Haynes, Dezmon Briscoe, Trent Stevenson, Cortney 17 18 Roberson, Dewayne Ikner, Tory Tyner, Corwin Hicks, Dustin Maddox, Anthony Blue, Tim Clark, James Hamilton, Terrance Compton, Keenon 19 Walker, Chris Ogbonna, Pete Thomas, Osie Carroll, Adrian Eaton, 20 21 Josh Thomas, Deandre Brown, Greg Brown, Imari Thompson, Nick 22 Haywood, Tobi Adeboyejo, Jimmy Rodriguez, Tremaine Reeves, Elijah Olabode, Montrel Green, Ben Malena, Brittian Valentine, Marvin 23 Charles, Corey Roney, Alfred Hutchins, Devin Gonzales, Kameron 24

1

H.R. No. 1673

Lair, Chris Francis, Douglas Hamilton, Demarcus McGinty, Kerry 1 2 Johnson, Howard Holmes, Eduardo Camara, LB Suggs, Jackie Crathers, 3 Aaron Benson, Douglas Washington, Chris Villines, Marvin Runnels, Darius McGraw, Zac Ponder, Nelson Davis, Rudy Diosdado, John Jones, 4 5 Cory Sifflet, Jesus Fuentes, Kendrick Houston, Terry Washington, Tyler Smith, Daniel Burgess, Greg Dunn, Brizeek Martin, Jerrel 6 7 Clemons, Damien Lebby, Emmanuel Chirume, Welmon Mays, Eduardo 8 Posas, Ricky Gonzales, Dane Ward, James McLemore, Osaze Idumwonyi, 9 Michael Washington, Thomas Ashcraft, Tyler Washington, Trent 10 Bizor, Herman Moore, Jordan Young, Romie Blaylock, Cody Powell, Blake Burkhalter, Michael Turner, Ryan Bradley, Jameel Bagby, 11 12 Dedrick James, Cory Struggs, Willie Watkins, Anthony Caston, Aaron Davies, Cameron Thompson, Melvin Freeman, Wayne Thompson, and 13 14 Jarvis Humphrey; and

15 WHEREAS, These outstanding athletes were schooled in the game's fundamentals by 8-5A Coach of the Year Joey McGuire, who 16 17 instilled in his young charges the values of hard work, dedication, and good sportsmanship; Coach McGuire was ably supported by 18 19 assistant coaches Stephen Hafford, Carlos Lynn, Richard Leonard, Kyle Morales, Jeremy Fatheree, Aaron Woods, Kevin Benjamin, Chill 20 21 Davis, Steven Lemley, Cory Jennings, and Calvin Ruzicka, trainers Marc McGill, Julie Torre, and David Young, and athletic director 22 23 Gina Farmer; and

24 WHEREAS, Demonstrating the talent and uncompromising 25 commitment to excellence required of true champions, the Longhorns 26 have earned a place in the annals of high school football, and this 27 achievement will undoubtedly remain with them for many years to

2

H.R. No. 1673

1 come; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas Legislature hereby honor the Cedar Hill High School football team for winning the 5A Division II state championship title and extend to the players and coaches best wishes for success and happiness in their future endeavors; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
House of Representatives.