H.R. No. 1674

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The South Oak Cliff High School Golden Bears won
- 2 their third consecutive Class 4A state boys' basketball
- 3 championship by defeating Beaumont Ozen High School 54-42 on March
- 4 10, 2007, at the Frank Erwin Center in Austin; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Only the second team in UIL boys' basketball history
- 6 to "three-peat," the Golden Bears have earned a place in the annals
- 7 of Texas high school sports lore with their remarkable achievements
- 8 over the past three seasons; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Led by head coach James Mays II, South Oak Cliff
- 10 topped Pflugerville Connally High School 48-44 in an exciting state
- 11 semifinal match to advance to the championship final and a chance to
- 12 make history; and
- 13 WHEREAS, The Golden Bears demonstrated the heart of champions
- 14 during the final minute of the game, sinking eight of nine free
- 15 throws to secure the victory and the coveted state crown; and
- 16 WHEREAS, Countless hours of preparation and practice have
- 17 been devoted to achieving this goal, and the members of the 2007
- 18 Golden Bears team will treasure this moment in their lives for years
- 19 to come; now, therefore, be it
- 20 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas
- 21 Legislature hereby congratulate Coach James Mays and the South Oak
- 22 Cliff High School Golden Bears on winning the 2007 UIL Class 4A
- 23 State Boys' Basketball Championship and extend best wishes to the
- 24 many individuals who contributed to this accomplishment; and, be it

H.R. No. 1674

- 1 further
- 2 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 3 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 4 House of Representatives.

Giddings

## H.R. No. 1674

Craddick Gattis Miles Allen Miller Geren Alonzo Giddings Moreno Anchia Gonzales Morrison Anderson Gonzalez Toureilles Mowery Goolsby Aycock Murphy Bailey Guillen Naishtat Berman Haggerty Noriega O'Day Bohac Hamilton Bolton Hancock Oliveira Hardcastle Bonnen Olivo Harless Branch Orr Brown of Kaufman Harper-Brown Ortiz, Jr. Brown of Brazos Hartnett Otto Burnam Heflin Parker Callegari Hernandez Patrick Castro Herrero Paxton Chavez Hilderbran Pena Phillips Chisum Hill Christian Hochberg Pickett Cohen Pierson Hodge Coleman Pitts Homer Cook of Navarro Hopson Puente Quintanilla Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Cook of Colorado Corte Raymond Riddle Crabb Hughes Creighton Ritter Isett Crownover Jackson Rodriguez Darby Jones Rose Keffer Davis of Harris Smith of Tarrant Davis of Dallas King of Parker Smith of Harris King of Taylor Delisi Smithee King of Zavala Deshotel Solomons Driver Kolkhorst Strama Dukes Krusee Straus Kuempel Swinford Dunnam Dutton Latham Talton Eiland Laubenberg Taylor Eissler Leibowitz Thompson Lucio III Elkins Truitt Macias Turner England Escobar Madden Van Arsdale Farabee Mallory Caraway Vaught Veasey Farias Martinez Martinez Fischer Farrar Villarreal Flores McCall Vo McClendon West Flynn McReynolds Woolley Frost

Zedler

Zerwas

Menendez

Merritt

Gallego

Garcia

$\Pi \cdot K \cdot MU \cdot MU$	Η	.R.	No.	1674
---------------------------------	---	-----	-----	------

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1674 was adopted by the House on April 25, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House