H.R. No. 1710

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Mary Alice Deike, the principal of W. Charles Akins
High School in Austin, has been named a finalist in the Lifetime
Achievement category of the 2007 H-E-B Excellence in Education

4 Awards; and

WHEREAS, Created in cooperation with the Texas Association of School Administrators, the H-E-B awards program recognizes the contributions of outstanding teachers and administrators in public schools throughout the state, and the Lifetime Achievement awards honor educators and administrators with more than 20 years of experience; and

WHEREAS, Over 7,000 nominations were received for this year's awards program; with her selection as a finalist in the secondary school principal category, Ms. Deike earned a \$1,000 prize as well as a \$2,500 grant for her school; a Region XIII Principal of the Year, Ms. Deike previously served as principal of Fredericksburg High School and earned her bachelor's degree and her master's degree in education from Southwest Texas State University; since her arrival at Akins High School in 2002, she has led the redesign of the school's curriculum to include academies where students can choose career-oriented classes; and

WHEREAS, Throughout her years of service as an administrator,
Mary Alice Deike has inspired countless individuals with her
passion for education, and she has demonstrated an exceptional
ability to motivate, mentor, and provide leadership to her school,

H.R. No. 1710

- 1 faculty, and students; now, therefore, be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas
- 3 Legislature hereby congratulate Mary Alice Deike on her selection
- 4 as a finalist for a 2007 H-E-B Excellence in Education Lifetime
- 5 Achievement Award and extend to her best wishes for the future; and,
- 6 be it further
- 7 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 8 prepared for Ms. Deike as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 9 House of Representatives.

Bolton

H.R. No. 1710

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1710 was adopted by the House on May 11, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House