H.R. No. 1714

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Residents of New Braunfels lost a beloved neighbor 2 and admired community leader with the death of James Howard Dunks on

March 20, 2007, at the age of 45; and

3

5

6

9

10

13

14

16

19

21

24

WHEREAS, A native of New Braunfels, James Dunks graduated

from high school in 1979 and returned to his hometown in 1993; a

certified financial planner, he was the owner of the stock

7 brokerage and financial advisory firm HFS Securities; and

8 WHEREAS, Devoted to the growth and development of his city,

he was a 4B board member who worked to encourage new jobs for the

area; his civic service also had included membership on the

11 Planning and Zoning Commission in the 1990s; and

12 WHEREAS, Mr. Dunks also gave of his time and talents to many

community organizations; he was a member of the Masonic Lodge,

Wurstfest Association, New Braunfels Chamber of Commerce, and the

15 McKenna Foundation Development Council, and he had served as

president of the United Way and Rotary International; in addition,

17 he was an active congregant at the Oakwood Baptist Church; and

18 WHEREAS, Those fortunate enough to have known James Dunks

will remember a man who strived to achieve his goals and worked to

20 build a stronger city so that his children, and other young people,

could live and prosper in his beloved New Braunfels; now,

22 therefore, be it

23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas

Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of James Howard Dunks and

H.R. No. 1714

- offer sincere sympathy to the members of his family: to his wife,
- 2 Felicia Dunks; to his two daughters; and to his other relatives and
- 3 many friends; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of
- 6 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of James
- 7 Dunks.

Macias

H.R. No. 1714

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1714 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on May 11, 2007.

Chief Clerk of the House