H.R. No. 1765

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Captain Abelardo Paniagua retired from the Del Rio 2 Police Department on January 31, 2007, drawing to a close a notable 3 career in law enforcement that spanned over 33 years of service to 4 the people of Del Rio; and

5 WHEREAS, Abelardo Paniagua joined the department as a patrol 6 officer on September 7, 1973; he was promoted to the rank of sergeant in 1982 and assigned to the Enforcement Division as a 7 supervisor; distinguishing himself in 8 patrol each new 9 responsibility he took on, Sergeant Paniagua was promoted to the rank of lieutenant in 1993, assigned as Enforcement Division 10 11 captain three years later, and named administrative captain in 12 2000; and

WHEREAS, For his actions in the high- and swift-water rescue of citizens during the flood of 1998, this courageous officer was awarded the department's Medal of Valor that same year; and

16 WHEREAS, Captain Paniagua's dedication to duty, professionalism, and commitment to excellence greatly benefited 17 the citizens of Del Rio and earned him the respect and admiration of 18 his fellow officers; he may indeed reflect with pride on a career 19 well-spent as he begins the next chapter of his life; now, 20 21 therefore, be it

22 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas 23 Legislature hereby congratulate Abelardo Paniagua on his 24 retirement from the Del Rio Police Department and extend sincere

1

H.R. No. 1765

best wishes to him for continued happiness; and, be it further
RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for Captain Paniagua as an expression of high regard by the
Texas House of Representatives.

Gallego

Craddick Allen Alonzo Anchia Anderson Aycock Bailey Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Delisi Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins England Escobar Farabee Farias Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Garcia

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goolsby Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Isett Jackson Jones Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Latham Laubenberg Leibowitz Lucio III Macias Madden Mallory Caraway Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez Merritt

Miller Moreno Morrison Mowery Murphy Naishtat Noriega O'Day Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Van Arsdale Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo West Woolley Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 1765

Miles

H.R. No. 1765

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1765 was adopted by the House on May 18, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House