By: Driver H.R. No. 1773

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The retirement of Captain Clifton H. Grumbles of San
- 2 Antonio from the Texas Department of Public Safety on April 30,
- 3 2007, brings to a close an exceptional career in public service that
- 4 has spanned nearly four decades; and
- 5 WHEREAS, A valued member of the department, Captain Grumbles
- 6 has most recently served as manager of the DPS Private Security
- 7 Bureau and he brought to that post a wealth of experience gained
- 8 over the course of his outstanding tenure in the field of law
- 9 enforcement; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Captain Grumbles began his service in 1969 with the
- 11 Bexar County Sheriff's Office; he later worked for the San Marcos
- 12 Police Department and for the Windcrest Police Department, where he
- 13 was employed for 17 years and was named chief of police; and
- 14 WHEREAS, Joining the Texas Commission on Private Security as
- 15 an investigator in 1989, Captain Grumbles was named chief of
- 16 investigations in 1998; earning subsequent promotions as the
- 17 commission's deputy director and executive director, he accepted
- 18 his current position as bureau manager in 2004; and
- WHEREAS, In all of his endeavors, Cliff Grumbles enjoys the
- love and support of his wife of 36 years, Linda, their two children,
- 21 Clint and Jenny, and their three grandchildren; and
- WHEREAS, Captain Grumbles has earned the lasting respect of
- 23 all who have been privileged to work with him through the years, and
- 24 he may indeed reflect with justifiable pride on his many

H.R. No. 1773

- 1 contributions to the safety and welfare of his fellow Texans; now,
- 2 therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas
- 4 Legislature hereby commend Captain Clifton H. Grumbles on his
- 5 exemplary career in law enforcement and extend to him sincere best
- 6 wishes for the future; and, be it further
- 7 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 8 prepared for Captain Grumbles as an expression of high regard by the
- 9 Texas House of Representatives.