H.R. No. 1823

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Retired Midwestern State University professor Joe
 Warndof of Wichita Falls is observing a significant occasion in his
 life with the celebration of his 69th birthday on May 4, 2007; and

WHEREAS, Born May 4, 1938, to Colonel Charles R. Warndof and
Mary Boykin Warndof, Professor Warndof is the grandson of Viennese
financier Fritz Waerndorfer, who was a cofounder of the famed
Vienna Werkstatte in Austria; and

8 WHEREAS, Graduating with a bachelor's degree in physics from 9 Arkansas Polytechnic College, Joe Warndof also earned a master's 10 degree in mathematics from North Texas State University; and

WHEREAS, His dissertation, "Topologies Uniquely Determined 11 12 by Their Continuous Self-Maps," was published in 1969 in Fundamenta 13 Mathematicae, the prestigious mathematical journal of the Polish 14 Academy of Sciences; his 1988 paper, "On Using Prime Numbers for Public Key Encryption Systems," coauthored with Professor Dennis 15 16 Huthnance, has been influential as cryptography moved into the computer age and is referenced at the National Security Agency 17 18 National Cryptologic Museum in Washington, D.C.; and

WHEREAS, From 1969 until his retirement in 2005, Professor Warndof distinguished himself as a professor in the Department of Mathematics at Midwestern State University; over the course of his 36-year career at MSU, Professor Warndof inspired countless students who have gone on to become professors, computer scientists, engineers, military professionals, and others whose

1

H.R. No. 1823

1 work has strengthened the Lone Star State and the nation; and

2 WHEREAS, Professor Warndof has likewise been active in his 3 profession through his membership in the National Association of 4 Mathematicians and the Texas Association of College Teachers; he 5 has been blessed in his personal life with the love and support of 6 his wife of 41 years, Ruth, with whom he has shared a lifelong 7 passion for classical music and opera and the joy of parenting their 8 beloved daughter, Donna; and

9 WHEREAS, Throughout his life, Joe Warndof has greatly 10 contributed to his field, his students, and his nation, and it is a 11 pleasure to honor him on his myriad achievements; now, therefore, 12 be it

13 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas 14 Legislature hereby congratulate Professor Joe Warndof on his 69th 15 birthday and extend to him best wishes for continued happiness; 16 and, be it further

17 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 18 prepared for Professor Warndof as an expression of high regard by 19 the Texas House of Representatives.

Farabee

2

Craddick Allen Alonzo Anchia Anderson Aycock Bailey Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Delisi Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins England Escobar Farabee Farias Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Garcia

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goolsby Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Isett Jackson Jones Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Latham Laubenberg Leibowitz Lucio III Macias Madden Mallory Caraway Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez Merritt

Miles Miller Moreno Morrison Mowery Murphy Naishtat Noriega O'Day Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Van Arsdale Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo West Woolley Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 1823

H.R. No. 1823

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1823 was adopted by the House on May 4, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House