RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Honorable Robert D. Hunter completed his 10th

2 term in the Texas House of Representatives in 2007, having

represented the citizens of Nolan and Taylor Counties for 20 years;

4 and

3

6

7

8

11

12

13

16

17

19

5 WHEREAS, Representative Hunter faithfully championed the

cause of private higher education in Texas, promoting the Texas

Tuition Equalization Grant program and serving as executive vice

president of the Independent Colleges and Universities of Texas for

9 a decade; and

WHEREAS, For more than half a century, Representative Hunter

has been a valued employee of Abilene Christian University, where

he is currently special assistant to the president; in recognition

of his years of dedicated service, the institution is designing a

14 new welcome center to be named in his honor; and

WHEREAS, Representative Hunter has long been a committed

public servant; since moving to Abilene in 1956, he has served a

three-year term on the city council and held leadership positions

18 with a number of worthwhile community groups; he continues his

important work in 2007, as a leader of the Abilene United Way

20 campaign; and

21 WHEREAS, His efforts have earned Representative Hunter a

22 number of accolades through the years, including honorary

23 doctorates from Pepperdine University, Texas Wesleyan College, the

24 University of St. Thomas, Hardin-Simmons University, McMurry

- 1 University, Austin College, and Abilene Christian University;
- 2 moreover, on September 16, 2007, he will receive the Founders Award
- 3 by the Independent Colleges and Universities of Texas, Inc.;
- 4 previously bestowed on such noteworthy Texans as the Honorable
- 5 William P. Hobby, Jr., Ray Hunt, the Honorable Wilhelmina Delco,
- 6 Dr. Norman Hackerman, and the Honorable Bob Bullock, it is the
- 7 highest honor of Texas independent higher education; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Desiring to enhance the quality of life for his
- 9 fellow citizens, Bob Hunter has made a positive and lasting impact
- 10 on the people and institutions of his community and state, and he
- 11 stands as an example of civic involvement that all can admire; now,
- 12 therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas
- 14 Legislature hereby commend the Honorable Robert D. Hunter for his
- 15 service to his state and extend to him sincere best wishes for the
- 16 future; and, be it further
- 17 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 18 prepared for Representative Hunter as an expression of high regard
- 19 by the Texas House of Representatives.

King of Taylor

Craddick Gattis Miles Allen Miller Geren Alonzo Giddings Moreno Anchia Gonzales Morrison Anderson Gonzalez Toureilles Mowery Goolsby Aycock Murphy Bailey Guillen Naishtat Berman Haggerty Noriega O'Day Bohac Hamilton Bolton Hancock Oliveira Hardcastle Bonnen Olivo Harless Branch Orr Brown of Kaufman Harper-Brown Ortiz, Jr. Brown of Brazos Hartnett Otto Burnam Heflin Parker Callegari Hernandez Patrick Castro Herrero Paxton Chavez Hilderbran Pena Phillips Chisum Hill Christian Hochberg Pickett Cohen Pierson Hodge Coleman Pitts Homer Cook of Navarro Hopson Puente Quintanilla Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Cook of Colorado Corte Raymond Riddle Crabb Hughes Creighton Ritter Isett Crownover Jackson Rodriguez Darby Jones Rose Keffer Davis of Harris Smith of Tarrant Davis of Dallas King of Parker Smith of Harris King of Taylor Delisi Smithee King of Zavala Deshotel Solomons Driver Kolkhorst Strama Dukes Krusee Straus Kuempel Swinford Dunnam Dutton Latham Talton Eiland Laubenberg Taylor Eissler Leibowitz Thompson Lucio III Elkins Truitt Macias Turner England Escobar Madden Van Arsdale Farabee Mallory Caraway Vaught Veasey Farias Martinez Martinez Fischer Farrar Villarreal Flores McCall Vo McClendon West Flynn McReynolds Woolley Frost

Zedler

Zerwas

Menendez

Merritt

Gallego

Garcia

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1829 was adopted by the House on May 25, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House