H.R. No. 1846

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Houston native Harold Lloyd Hempstead retired from
- 2 Baker Oil Tools after 32 years of dedicated service with the
- 3 company, and he will be honored by family and friends at a ceremony
- 4 on May 5, 2007, at Memory's Banquet Facility; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Mr. Hempstead's final day at work was also his
- 6 birthday, making April 12, 2007, twice as nice for the longtime
- 7 employee; and
- 8 WHEREAS, A product of Houston public schools, Mr. Hempstead
- 9 attended Bruce Elementary School, E. O. Smith Junior High School,
- 10 and Phillis Wheatley High School before continuing his education at
- 11 Texas Southern University; and
- 12 WHEREAS, This patriotic American served his country during
- 13 the Vietnam War and was awarded the Purple Heart; he is a longtime
- 14 member of Sloan Memorial United Methodist Church and has held many
- 15 leadership positions during his more than 50 years as a devoted
- 16 congregant; and
- WHEREAS, Among the family members who join in wishing him
- well as he begins his retirement are his sisters, Carol Lois Holman,
- 19 Flossie Hempstead Pollard, and Bobbie Hempstead Jones, and his
- 20 brothers, Donald Richard Conner and Willie Hempstead; and
- 21 WHEREAS, Harold Hempstead enjoyed a long and rewarding career
- 22 with Baker Oil Tools, and he may look back with pride on his
- 23 contributions to the company even as he looks forward to embarking
- on the next chapter of his life; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 1846

- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas
 Legislature hereby congratulate Harold Lloyd Hempstead on his
 retirement after 32 years of service with Baker Oil Tools and extend
 to him best wishes for continued success and happiness in all his
 endeavors; and, be it further
- RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for Mr. Hempstead as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Dutton

H.R. No. 1846

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1846 was adopted by the House on May 1, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House