By: Leibowitz

H.R. No. 1850

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Ed Suarez, the communications and community 2 relations officer for the South San Antonio Independent School 3 District, has received two Texas School Public Relations 4 Association Gold Star Awards for excellence in school 5 communications; and

6 WHEREAS, The TSPRA is composed of more than 850 members, most 7 of whom are public information and communications professionals who 8 serve the public school districts and education organizations of 9 Texas; and

10 WHEREAS, Star Awards provide recognition for the outstanding 11 communications work and projects of TSPRA members; the Gold Star is 12 awarded to entries that not only achieve their purpose with 13 noticeable creativity and skill, but do so in an exceptional way; 14 and

WHEREAS, Mr. Suarez was recognized during the TSPRA awards ceremony on February 22, 2007, for articles that appeared in the district's internal newsletter, *The Scratchpad*, and its external newsletter, *Today's South San*; one of the articles won Best of Category for its profile of Jacqulyn Estrada, a softball player at South San Antonio High School who lost a leg to cancer; and

21 WHEREAS, In his post with the South San Antonio ISD, Mr. 22 Suarez oversees communications and community relations for a 23 district that encompasses 17 campuses and educates approximately 24 10,000 students; the prestigious awards conferred on this esteemed

1

H.R. No. 1850

1 gentleman by the TSPRA reflect the impressive talent and dedication 2 that he brings to his demanding responsibilities, and it is indeed a 3 privilege to join in commending him at this time; now, therefore, be 4 it

5 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas 6 Legislature hereby congratulate Ed Suarez on his receipt of two 7 Gold Star Awards from the Texas School Public Relations Association 8 and extend to him sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be 9 it further

10 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 11 prepared for Mr. Suarez as an expression of high regard by the Texas 12 House of Representatives.

2