## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Thirty-eight citizen soldiers from Texas are 2 receiving the Army Valorous Unit Award on May 5, 2007, for their

heroic actions in Iraq; and

WHEREAS, These dedicated men and women served as members of the U.S. Army B Company, 490 Civil Affairs Battalion, which was deployed to Anbar Province in April 2003; and

WHEREAS, Civil affairs soldiers are trained to work with people of other nations to rebuild infrastructure and organize representative governments, and they possess expertise and skills in areas of public safety, health and welfare, legal systems, labor management, finance, education, public works and communications, transportation, food and agriculture, economic development, and disaster relief; and

WHEREAS, Divided into several teams, members of B Company were sent throughout the province, and in spite of the very real dangers, including insurgents and improvised explosive devices, they made significant strides toward rebuilding a number of cities; in Fallujah, soldiers orchestrated more than \$2 million in construction projects, including rebuilding 99 schools, the mayor's office, and three police stations, and they reorganized the local police force; soldiers sent to Hit and Rutbah coordinated rebuilding in excess of \$1.4 million and installed an irrigation system that covered more than 100,000 square kilometers; in Ramadi and Qaim, in addition to performing extensive redevelopment, they

- 1 educated town council members on city management and instructed
- 2 local companies on doing business in a free market system; and
- 3 WHEREAS, Through their unfaltering devotion to duty, honor,
- 4 and this nation, these brave servicemen and servicewomen have
- 5 embodied the highest ideals of the U.S. armed forces and earned the
- 6 lasting respect and gratitude of their fellow Texans; now,
- 7 therefore, be it
- 8 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas
- 9 Legislature hereby honor the 38 members of B Company, 490 Civil
- 10 Affairs Battalion, on their receipt of a Valorous Unit Award and
- 11 commend them for their heroic and steadfast service in Iraq; and, be
- 12 it further
- RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 14 prepared for each of these brave Texans as an expression of high
- 15 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Noriega

Craddick Gattis Miles Allen Miller Geren Alonzo Giddings Moreno Anchia Gonzales Morrison Anderson Gonzalez Toureilles Mowery Goolsby Aycock Murphy Bailey Guillen Naishtat Berman Haggerty Noriega O'Day Bohac Hamilton Bolton Hancock Oliveira Hardcastle Bonnen Olivo Harless Branch Orr Brown of Kaufman Harper-Brown Ortiz, Jr. Brown of Brazos Hartnett Otto Burnam Heflin Parker Callegari Hernandez Patrick Castro Herrero Paxton Chavez Hilderbran Pena Phillips Chisum Hill Christian Hochberg Pickett Cohen Pierson Hodge Coleman Pitts Homer Cook of Navarro Hopson Puente Quintanilla Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Cook of Colorado Corte Raymond Riddle Crabb Hughes Creighton Isett Ritter Crownover Jackson Rodriguez Darby Jones Rose Keffer Davis of Harris Smith of Tarrant Davis of Dallas King of Parker Smith of Harris King of Taylor Delisi Smithee King of Zavala Deshotel Solomons Driver Kolkhorst Strama Dukes Krusee Straus Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Dutton Latham Talton Eiland Laubenberg Taylor Eissler Leibowitz Thompson Lucio III Elkins Truitt Macias Turner England Escobar Madden Van Arsdale Farabee Mallory Caraway Vaught Veasey Farias Martinez Martinez Fischer Farrar Villarreal Flores McCall Vo McClendon West Flynn McReynolds Woolley Frost Gallego Menendez Zedler

Zerwas

Merritt

Garcia

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1875 was adopted by the House on May 4, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House