H.R. No. 1924

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, A team of three computer science students from The University of Texas at Dallas, graduate student Jack Lindamood and undergraduates Michelle Berger and Matthew Dempsky, placed in the top 20 teams competing in the World Finals of the Association for Computing Machinery International Collegiate Programming Contest held in Tokyo from March 12 to 16, 2007; and

WHEREAS, From its origins as a competition at Texas A&M University in 1970, the ACM-ICPC has grown into one of the most prestigious programming contests in the world, involving students

prestigious programming contests in the world, involving students and faculty from 1,756 universities in 82 countries; now headquartered at Baylor University, the contest encourages creativity, teamwork, and innovation in software design; at the 2007 World Finals in Japan, teams from six continents competed to

solve 10 computer programming problems in under five hours; and

WHEREAS, Working with a single computer at their first world-class competition, the UT Dallas team placed 14th out of 88 teams, completing five problems in the allotted time; this impressive showing made UT Dallas one of only three teams from American universities to place in the top 20; coached by UT Dallas associate professor Ivor Page, the team members are all students at the Erik Jonsson School of Engineering and Computer Science; and

WHEREAS, These gifted and disciplined students may take great pride in their achievements, and it is appropriate to take this opportunity to recognize them; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 1924

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas 2 Legislature hereby congratulate Jack Lindamood, Michelle Berger, 3 and Matthew Dempsky of The University of Texas at Dallas on placing 4 in the top 20 at the 2007 World Finals of the Association for 5 Computing Machinery International Collegiate Programming Contest 6 and extend to them best wishes for their continued success; and, be it further 7 RESOLVED, That official copies of this resolution be prepared 8

for Mr. Lindamood, Ms. Berger, and Mr. Dempsky as an expression of

high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

9

10

Hill

H.R. No. 1924

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1924 was adopted by the House on May 18, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House