H.R. No. 1925

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The University of Texas at Dallas Debate Team 2 members Sara Stephens and Brian Rubaie have ably represented their 3 team and their university at the 61st annual National Debate 4 Tournament in Dallas from March 30 to April 2, 2007; and

5 WHEREAS, Established in 1999, the UT Dallas Debate Team has 6 grown from a regional competitor to a national one; the team offers 7 four full scholarships each year and top team members travel from 8 five to seven weekends each semester, competing at tournaments from 9 late September to early April; and

WHEREAS, Capably assisted and encouraged by Debate Team 10 11 Director Chris Burk and Assistant Director and Coach Scott Herndon, 12 Ms. Stephens, a junior from Pensacola, Florida, and Mr. Rubaie, a 13 freshman from Overland Park, Kansas, defeated two teams from Wake 14 Forest University and teams from the United States Military Academy and Weber State University at the tournament; they demonstrated 15 great skill and determination, and they will be one of the top 25 16 returning teams in the country at next year's tournament; and 17

18 WHEREAS, Ms. Stephens and Mr. Rubaie may take great pride in 19 their achievements, and it is most fitting to take this opportunity 20 to recognize them; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas Legislature hereby commend Sara Stephens and Brian Rubaie of The University of Texas at Dallas Debate Team for competing well at the National Debate Tournament and extend to them best wishes for their

1

H.R. No. 1925

1 continued success; and, be it further

2 RESOLVED, That official copies of this resolution be prepared

3 for Ms. Stephens and Mr. Rubaie as an expression of high regard by 4 the Texas House of Representatives.

Hill

H.R. No. 1925

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1925 was adopted by the House on May 18, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House