H.R. No. 1945

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Dr. Gene Lester and Dr. Yin-Tung Wang of Weslaco 2 have been named Fellows by the American Society for Horticultural 3 Science in recognition of their outstanding contributions to 4 horticulture and the ASHS; and

5 WHEREAS, Founded in 1903, the ASHS is the largest 6 organization dedicated to advancing horticultural research, 7 education, and application, and election as a Fellow is the highest 8 honor that it can bestow on its members; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Lester has served for nearly 25 years as a 9 post-harvest vegetable researcher at the U.S. Department of 10 Agriculture ARS Kika de la Garza Subtropical Research Center, where 11 12 he has devoted his career to improving the post-harvest preservation of fruits and vegetables and to developing 13 14 grower-friendly methods of improving their nutritional levels; his 15 accomplishments include developing a method to keep muskmelons edible for two to three weeks longer than usual, extending the shelf 16 life of cut fruit, and developing foliar sprays to increase sugars 17 18 and beneficial nutrients in cantaloupes; and

WHEREAS, An orchid production expert, Dr. Wang has served as a horticulturist at the Texas A&M University System Agricultural Research and Extension Center since 1984; he specializes in developing modern production systems for potted orchids, and his work has made the plants one of the best selling ornamental commodities in the world; elected executive secretary of the

1

H.R. No. 1945

International Commercial Orchid Growers Organization, he has 1 written more than 70 refereed publications and received more than 2 \$1 million in grants and gifts for his research; moreover, he has 3 4 mentored and taught numerous graduate students in horticulture; and WHEREAS, The recognition of Dr. Lester and Dr. Wang as 5 6 Fellows by the American Society for Horticultural Science justly 7 acknowledges their remarkable achievements in agriculture, which 8 have enriched and improved our state and nation; now, therefore, be 9 it

10 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas 11 Legislature hereby congratulate Dr. Gene Lester and Dr. Yin-Tung 12 Wang on being named Fellows by the American Society for 13 Horticultural Science and extend to them sincere best wishes for 14 continued success; and, be it further

15 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 16 prepared for Dr. Lester and Dr. Wang as an expression of high regard 17 by the Texas House of Representatives.

Martinez

2

H.R. No. 1945

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1945 was adopted by the House on May 18, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House