H.R. No. 1949

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The exemplary tenure of R. Dyke Rogers of Dalhart as
 member and chair of the Texas Racing Commission stands as a shining
 example of public service; and

WHEREAS, A graduate of West Texas A&M University and a longtime West Texas businessman, Mr. Rogers has been owner of the North Texas Gas Company, owner/director of the medical billing company TRIAD, and a farmer cultivating over 3,000 acres of corn and wheat; he is currently the president of Frontier Fuel Company; and

9 WHEREAS, His professional affiliations include membership in 10 the Texas Petroleum Marketers and Convenience Store Association, 11 the Petroleum Marketers Association of America, and the National 12 Association of Convenience Stores; and

WHEREAS, He has likewise served his community as president of the Dalhart Chamber of Commerce and as a member of the boards of directors of the New Beginnings Retreat Center, the Dalhart Independent School District, and the Dalhart County Appraisal District; and

18 WHEREAS, The Texas Racing Commission oversees the racing 19 industry in Texas in order to ensure safe racing facilities, fair 20 and honest races, and a consistent revenue stream to the state; and

21 WHEREAS, Mr. Rogers has served on the commission since 22 November 17, 1999, and was vice chair from February 20, 2002, to May 23 26, 2003, when he was appointed as chair by Governor Rick Perry; his 24 continuing commitment to the commission and the State of Texas is

1

H.R. No. 1949 1 exceptional and truly merits special recognition; now, therefore, 2 be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas Legislature hereby commend Chairman R. Dyke Rogers for his years of service to the Texas Racing Commission and extend to him best wishes for the future; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for Mr. Rogers as an expression of high regard by the Texas
House of Representatives.

Darby

H.R. No. 1949

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1949 was adopted by the House on May 11, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House