H.R. No. 1955

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Klein High School Drama Department won five 2007 2 awards for its production of *Oklahoma!* at the fifth annual Tommy 3 Tune Awards on April 24, 2007, at the Hobby Center for the 4 Performing Arts in Houston; and

5 WHEREAS, Founded in 1972, the Klein Drama Department produces 6 four shows each year, ranging from serious drama such as Arthur 7 Miller's *The Crucible* to a stage version of the movie musical 8 *Singin' in the Rain*; and

9 WHEREAS, Klein's 2007 musical was the classic Rodgers and 10 Hammerstein musical *Oklahoma!*; directed by theatre department head 11 Tina Lee Domino and choreographed by Klein senior Caitlin Wright, 12 the production featured a cast of 49 and a crew of 14; and

WHEREAS, Named for the Broadway star Tommy Tune, a Houston native and winner of nine Tony Awards, the Tommy Tune Awards are presented by Theatre Under the Stars and recognize the best of student musical theater from Houston-area high schools; in 2007 there were more than 150 nominations from 47 high schools; and

WHEREAS, Nominated in 13 out of 15 categories, the Klein High School production of Oklahoma! received awards for best musical, best orchestra, best choreography, and best crew/technical execution; Klein student Russell Laningham also received the Tommy Tune Award for best supporting actor for his performance as Will Parker; and

24

WHEREAS, Klein High School has won previously at the Tommy

1

H.R. No. 1955

Tune Awards, for its 2005 production of Beauty and the Beast; it is 1 2 the only high school to have won the best musical award twice; and 3 WHEREAS, Building on a tradition of excellence, the cast and 4 crew of Klein High School's production of Oklahoma! have offered 5 outstanding entertainment to their community and brought special 6 acclaim to their school, and they have achieved a success that should remain a highlight of their school years; now, therefore, be 7 8 it

9 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas 10 Legislature hereby congratulate the Klein High School Drama 11 Department for winning five 2007 Tommy Tune Awards for its 12 production of *Oklahoma!* and extend to the director, cast, and crew 13 best wishes for their continued success; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for Klein High School as an expression of regard, as high as an elephant's eye, by the Texas House of Representatives.

Harless

2

H.R. No. 1955

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1955 was adopted by the House on May 8, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House