By: Dutton H.R. No. 1972

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Members of the eighth-grade class of Northwest

2 Preparatory Academy Charter School in Houston will take part in the

school's sixth annual eighth-grade promotion ceremony on May 21,

4 2007; and

3

10

11

13

16

17

20

5 WHEREAS, Established in 2000 by superintendent Steve Roberts

6 and deputy superintendent Erik Singleton, Northwest Preparatory

7 Academy strives to provide a curriculum that challenges students

8 and allows them to maximize their full potential; and

9 WHEREAS, The 2007 eighth-grade graduates are Ariel Anderson,

Anthony Brown, Jeron Dagins, Ja'Marcus Ellis, Torrian Green, Ryan

Hernandez, Ka'lyone Hines, Brandon Kelly, Eric Martin, Lawrencia

12 Murray, Cory Okpaleke, Craig Okpaleke, Nair Robinson, Jocresha

Steward, Jada Stewart, Nicholas Thomas, Daryn Thomas, Ashley

14 Tillman, Ashley Williams, and Laresha Wimbley; and

15 WHEREAS, These dedicated students have benefited from the

school's rigorous academic program, as well as its focus on

specialized areas such as foreign language, choral and performing

18 music, technology education, and engineering, and the knowledge and

19 skill they have gained will undoubtedly benefit them as they

continue in the pursuit of academic excellence; now, therefore, be

21 it

22 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas

23 Legislature hereby congratulate Northwest Preparatory Academy

24 Charter School on the occasion of its sixth annual eighth-grade

H.R. No. 1972

- 1 promotion ceremony and extend to the graduates best wishes for
- 2 continued success in all of their endeavors; and, be it further
- 3 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 4 prepared for members of the class as an expression of high regard by
- 5 the Texas House of Representatives.