H.R. No. 1988

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Matthew Brown embarked on a new chapter in his 2 career on April 5, 2007, when he was appointed assistant principal 3 at Miller Elementary School in Arlington; and

WHEREAS, A graduate of The University of Texas at Arlington, Mr. Brown earned his bachelor's degree in music in 2000; while he was still in college, he began his professional career as an intern in the music department at Larson Elementary School, and he went on to teach there for the next eight years; he taught all subjects to first-graders, writing to fourth-graders, and language arts to sixth-graders over the course of his tenure at Larson; he also served as a basketball coach and a music tutor, as well as the PTA parent education coordinator and a team leader; and

WHEREAS, In 2006, Mr. Brown earned a master's degree in administration and supervision from the University of Phoenix; and

WHEREAS, Outside the classroom, he has contributed to his professional community by serving on the Arlington Independent School District instruction decision making team and on the school's site-based committee; a campus technology trainer for the past seven years, he has also been a district and regional level presenter in the areas of writing and technology; and

WHEREAS, Matthew Brown has distinguished himself as an outstanding educator and an administrator of great promise, and his drive and commitment to excellence will surely benefit countless young Texans; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 1988

- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas
 Legislature hereby congratulate Matthew Brown on his appointment as
 assistant principal of Miller Elementary School and extend to him
 best wishes for success in his new post; and, be it further
- RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for Mr. Brown as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Pierson

H.R. No. 1988

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1988 was adopted by the House on May 16, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House