H.R. No. 1992

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The girls' swimming and diving team of Highland Park
- 2 High School in Dallas captured the University Interscholastic
- 3 League Class 4A State Championship for 2006-2007; and
- 4 WHEREAS, This achievement marks the seventh straight title
- 5 for the team, which sets a new state record for the most consecutive
- 6 swimming and diving championships in the history of Texas high
- 7 school sports; and
- 8 WHEREAS, The team's victory was aided by state titles in
- 9 several events, including the 400-yard freestyle relay, in which
- 10 Allison Arnold, Megan Arnold, Bolton Harris, and Alex Weber powered
- 11 their way to victory; Allison Arnold was also crowned state
- 12 champion in the 200 freestyle and 500 freestyle individual events;
- 13 and
- WHEREAS, A team championship can be won only by a true group
- 15 effort, and Highland Park also received an essential contribution
- 16 from the other members of its talented team: Meredith Higgins,
- 17 Delaney Rolfe, and Natalie Sacco; and
- 18 WHEREAS, This impressive collection of raw swimming and
- 19 diving talent was molded by the inspired leadership of coaches Jeff
- 20 Olsen and Kathy Rayborn; and
- 21 WHEREAS, In winning the state title, these aquatic athletes
- 22 displayed both tremendous skill and admirable dedication, and their
- 23 achievement will stand as yet another proud moment in the legacy of
- 24 Highland Park sports excellence; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 1992

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas Legislature hereby congratulate the girls' swimming and diving team of Highland Park High School on winning the UIL Class 4A State Championship for 2006-2007 and extend to its members and coaches sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Branch

H.R. No. 1992

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1992 was adopted by the House on May 18, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House