H.R. No. 2004

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Midland Independent School District held its 1 2 Volunteers in Public Schools luncheon on May 2, 2007, and this 3 annual event pays tribute to all those who have shared their time and talents with area schools; and 4 WHEREAS, VIPs assist in the classroom and with clerical 5 6 duties, share computer knowledge, help as bilingual tutors and with reading, support the PTA, and much more; at this year's event, MISD 7

Superintendent Sylvester Perez was presented with a mock check for more than \$1.5 million, representing the value of the 84,237 hours

that were so generously donated to the district during the

11 2006-2007 school year; and

> WHEREAS, Volunteers of the Year from each campus were recognized, and they include: Kevin Sipes, Carissa Hillger, Vanessa Reyes, Claudia Juarez, Kristi Cowan, Charla Espino, Jerry Kressler, Elizabeth Meza, Raymond Olivas, Janet Smith, Lisa Lamb, Lora Frailey, Leaoma Pitchford, Michelle Ingram, Lanae Gwin, Jo Halpert, Kortney Floyd, Trudy Rodriguez, Johni Smedley, Kim Maddy, Raquelle Trimble, Terah Hatter, Lacrisia Tolifson, Erika Mendoza, Danielle Sydnor, Nikki Howard, Elmy Baeza, Maria del Carmen Martinez, Cheri Bedwell, Michele Newton, Sonya Hopkins, Carrie Shumate, Rosemary Cox, Kim Hodges, Margaret Williams, Sue Siebens, and Lisa Zachry;

21

22 and

8

9

10

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

23

24

WHEREAS, Children are our most valuable resource, and those caring men and women who contribute to the youth of Midland are

H.R. No. 2004

- 1 investing in the future of the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be
- 2 it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas
- 4 Legislature hereby commend the dedicated volunteers who have given
- 5 their time to assist Midland ISD and extend to them sincere best
- 6 wishes for continued success in all their efforts; and, be it
- 7 further
- 8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 9 prepared for the volunteers as an expression of high regard by the
- 10 Texas House of Representatives.

Craddick

H.R. No. 2004

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2004 was adopted by the House on May 18, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House