H.R. No. 2040

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, United States Air Force Staff Sergeant Glenn A.
Wright has been awarded the Bronze Star for his meritorious service
in Iraq; and

WHEREAS, Working as an explosive ordnance disposal team leader, Staff Sergeant Wright led more than 50 operations from September 2005 to January 2006, helping to excavate, recover, and destroy weapons and firearms caches that totaled more than 3,500 pounds of net explosive weight; and

9 WHEREAS, Despite the dangerous nature of his mission, this 10 valorous Texan performed it with steadfast dedication and skill; he 11 was often placed in perilous circumstances, and his bravery and 12 quick thinking helped him to survive ambushes and firefights; 13 moreover, his work directly reduced the enemy's ability to wage 14 attacks against a key stronghold while it helped to ensure the 15 safety of 27,000 Coalition Force soldiers; and

16 WHEREAS, Americans owe an immeasurable debt to Staff Sergeant 17 Wright and to all our military servicemen and servicewomen, for 18 they have been called on to bear great, often unimaginable, 19 burdens, and render sacrifice that is truly beyond measure; and

20 WHEREAS, Staff Sergeant Wright's outstanding leadership and 21 unwavering dedication to his mission exemplify the highest 22 standards of the United States Armed Forces, and he is truly 23 deserving of his fellow citizens' deepest respect and gratitude; 24 now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 2040

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas 2 Legislature hereby commend U.S. Air Force Staff Sergeant Glenn A. 3 Wright for his outstanding service in Iraq and congratulate him on 4 earning the Bronze Star; and, be it further

5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 6 prepared for Staff Sergeant Wright as an expression of high regard 7 by the Texas House of Representatives.

King of Taylor

Craddick Allen Alonzo Anchia Anderson Aycock Bailey Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Delisi Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins England Escobar Farabee Farias Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Garcia

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goolsby Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Isett Jackson Jones Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Latham Laubenberg Leibowitz Lucio III Macias Madden Mallory Caraway Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez Merritt

Miller Moreno Morrison Mowery Murphy Naishtat Noriega O'Day Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Van Arsdale Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo West Woolley Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 2040

Miles

H.R. No. 2040

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2040 was adopted by the House on May 24, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House