## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Those young people who give of their time and
- 2 talents to assist in the demanding work of the Texas Legislature are
- 3 truly deserving of our gratitude and admiration, and Alexander
- 4 Melis is one such individual; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Originally from South Florida, Mr. Melis served as a
- 6 legislative intern in the office of State Representative Elliott
- 7 Naishtat from January to May 2007, and his commitment, dedication,
- 8 and cheerful disposition were much appreciated by his colleagues;
- 9 and
- 10 WHEREAS, The expertise brought by Mr. Melis in the area of
- 11 health and human services was particularly valuable to both
- 12 Representative Naishtat's staff and his constituents, and in
- 13 assisting citizens with questions relating to these areas, he saw
- 14 firsthand the ability of public officials to have an impact on
- 15 policy; and
- WHEREAS, Mr. Melis is a graduate student at the School of
- 17 Social Work at The University of Texas at Austin, and his hands-on
- 18 experience with the workings of state government will no doubt
- 19 enrich and inform his experience as a social worker; and
- WHEREAS, Although his coworkers are sorry to see his tenure
- 21 end, they share his excitement in a future that is bright with
- 22 promise; now, therefore, be it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas
- 24 Legislature hereby honor Alexander Melis for his service as a

- 1 legislative intern with the Texas House of Representatives and
- 2 extend to him sincere best wishes for continued success and
- 3 happiness; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for Mr. Melis as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 6 House of Representatives.

Naishtat

Craddick Gattis Miles Allen Miller Geren Alonzo Giddings Moreno Anchia Gonzales Morrison Anderson Gonzalez Toureilles Mowery Goolsby Aycock Murphy Guillen Bailey Naishtat Berman Haggerty Noriega O'Day Bohac Hamilton Bolton Hancock Oliveira Hardcastle Bonnen Olivo Harless Branch Orr Brown of Kaufman Harper-Brown Ortiz, Jr. Brown of Brazos Hartnett Otto Burnam Heflin Parker Callegari Hernandez Patrick Castro Herrero Paxton Chavez Hilderbran Pena Phillips Chisum Hill Christian Hochberg Pickett Cohen Pierson Hodge Coleman Pitts Homer Cook of Navarro Hopson Puente Quintanilla Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Cook of Colorado Corte Raymond Riddle Crabb Hughes Creighton Isett Ritter Crownover Jackson Rodriguez Darby Jones Rose Keffer Davis of Harris Smith of Tarrant Davis of Dallas King of Parker Smith of Harris King of Taylor Delisi Smithee King of Zavala Deshotel Solomons Driver Kolkhorst Strama Dukes Krusee Straus Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Dutton Latham Talton Eiland Laubenberg Taylor Eissler Leibowitz Thompson Lucio III Elkins Truitt Macias Turner England Escobar Madden Van Arsdale Farabee Mallory Caraway Vaught Veasey Farias Martinez Martinez Fischer Farrar Villarreal Flores McCall Vo McClendon West Flynn McReynolds Woolley Frost Gallego Menendez Zedler

Zerwas

Merritt

Garcia

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2044 was adopted by the House on May 23, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House