H.R. No. 2045

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Those young people who give of their time and 2 talents to assist in the demanding work of the Texas Legislature are 3 truly deserving of our gratitude and admiration, and Laurie 4 Hernandez is one such individual; and

5 WHEREAS, Originally from Corpus Christi, Ms. Hernandez 6 served as a legislative intern in the office of State 7 Representative Elliott Naishtat from January to May 2007, and her 8 commitment, dedication, and cheerful disposition were much 9 appreciated by her colleagues; and

10 WHEREAS, Ms. Hernandez's expertise in the area of health and 11 human services was particularly valuable to both Representative 12 Naishtat's staff and his constituents, and in assisting citizens 13 with questions relating to these areas, she saw firsthand the 14 ability of public officials to have an impact on policy; and

15 WHEREAS, Ms. Hernandez is a graduate student at the School of 16 Social Work at The University of Texas at Austin, and her hands-on 17 experience with the workings of state government will no doubt 18 enrich and inform her experience as a social worker; and

19 WHEREAS, Although her coworkers are sorry to see her tenure 20 end, they share her excitement in a future that is bright with 21 promise; now, therefore, be it

22 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas 23 Legislature hereby honor Laurie Hernandez for her service as a 24 legislative intern with the Texas House of Representatives and

1

H.R. No. 2045 1 extend to her sincere best wishes for continued success and 2 happiness; and, be it further

3 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 4 prepared for Ms. Hernandez as an expression of high regard by the 5 Texas House of Representatives.

Naishtat

Craddick Allen Alonzo Anchia Anderson Aycock Bailey Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Delisi Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins England Escobar Farabee Farias Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Garcia

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goolsby Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Isett Jackson Jones Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Latham Laubenberg Leibowitz Lucio III Macias Madden Mallory Caraway Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez Merritt

Miller Moreno Morrison Mowery Murphy Naishtat Noriega O'Day Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Van Arsdale Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo West Woolley Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 2045

Miles

H.R. No. 2045

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2045 was adopted by the House on May 23, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House