## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The city of Katy lost five beloved young men who died in service to their country: U.S. Army Master Sergeant James Curtis Coons, U.S. Army Captain James Alexander Funkhouser, Jr., U.S. Marine Corporal Benjamin Salgado Rosales, U.S. Army First Lieutenant Jonathan D. Rozier, and U.S. Marine Sergeant James Rodney Tijerina; and

7 WHEREAS, Master Sergeant James Coons, assigned to the 385th 8 Signal Company, 54th Signal Battalion, in Kuwait City, Kuwait, had 9 returned stateside when he died on July 4, 2003, at the age of 35; a 10 16-year veteran, he completed two tours in Okinawa, Japan, before 11 serving as a director of information management during the wars in 12 Afghanistan and Iraq; and

WHEREAS, Captain Alex Funkhouser, Jr., sustained mortal injuries on May 29, 2006, at the age of 35, when an improvised explosive device detonated near his vehicle during reconnaissance patrol operations in Baghdad; assigned to the 1st Battalion, 12th Infantry Regiment, 4th Brigade, 4th Infantry Division based at Fort Hood, he served as a headquarters company commander and as part of a team that trained Iraqi soldiers; and

20 WHEREAS, Corporal Benjamin Rosales was assigned to the 2nd 21 Light Armored Reconnaissance Battalion, 2nd Marine Division, II 22 Marine Expeditionary Force, based at Camp Lejeune, North Carolina; 23 he was killed on October 4, 2006, at the age of 20, while conducting 24 combat operations in Al Anbar Province; and

1

WHEREAS, First Lieutenant Jonathan Rozier was assigned to B Company, 2nd Battalion, 70th Armored Regiment, 3rd Brigade, 1st Armored Division, based at Fort Riley, Kansas; he was killed on July 19, 2003, at the age of 25, when his unit was fired upon while providing security at a municipal building in Baghdad; and

6 WHEREAS, Sergeant James Tijerina was killed on February 7, 7 2007, at the age of 26, when his helicopter was shot down by hostile 8 fire in Al Anbar Province; assigned to Marine Medium Helicopter 9 Squadron 364, Marine Aircraft Group 39, 3rd Marine Aircraft Wing, I 10 Marine Expeditionary Force, at Camp Pendleton, California, he 11 served as a crew chief on a CH-46E Sea Knight medical evacuation 12 helicopter and was on his second tour of duty; and

WHEREAS, Our state and nation are fortunate to have men and women whose love for their country inspires them to military service, yet the tragic deaths of these exemplary soldiers are a sobering reminder of the cost of war; James Coons, Alex Funkhouser, Benjamin Rosales, Jonathan Rozier, and James Tijerina all embodied the highest ideals of the armed services, and their bravery and sacrifice will never be forgotten; now, therefore, be it

20 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas 21 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the lives of U.S. Army Master 22 Sergeant James Curtis Coons, U.S. Army Captain James Alexander 23 Funkhouser, Jr., U.S. Marine Corporal Benjamin Salgado Rosales, 24 U.S. Army First Lieutenant Jonathan D. Rozier, and U.S. Marine 25 Sergeant James Rodney Tijerina and extend sincere sympathy to all 26 their loved ones; and, be it further

27

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be

2

prepared for their families and that when the Texas House of Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of U.S. Army Master Sergeant James Curtis Coons, U.S. Army Captain James Alexander Funkhouser, Jr., U.S. Marine Corporal Benjamin Salgado Rosales, U.S. Army First Lieutenant Jonathan D. Rozier, and U.S. Marine Sergeant James Rodney Tijerina.

Callegari

Craddick Allen Alonzo Anchia Anderson Aycock Bailey Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Delisi Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins England Escobar Farabee Farias Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Garcia

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goolsby Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Isett Jackson Jones Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Latham Laubenberg Leibowitz Lucio III Macias Madden Mallory Caraway Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez Merritt

Miller Moreno Morrison Mowery Murphy Naishtat Noriega O'Day Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Van Arsdale Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo West Woolley Zedler Zerwas

## H.R. No. 2052

Miles

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2052 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on May 25, 2007.

Chief Clerk of the House